We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grampians - More Than I expected”
Review of Grampians

Grampians
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.49*
and up
Grampians Hiking Day Trip from Melbourne by Kombi Van
More Info
$108.97*
and up
Small-Group Grampians Day Trip from Melbourne
More Info
$314.80*
and up
3-Day Great Ocean Road and Grampians Tour from Melbourne
Ranked #1,168 of 2,956 things to do in Victoria
Attraction details
Vincentia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Grampians - More Than I expected”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Grampians in Western Victoria are a bit out of the way meaning they do not get the publicity and iconic status they deserve. Basically a long narrow valley with towering peaks on either side and the village of Hall's Gap at one end it turned out to be much more than I expected. McKenzie Falls on the way into the valley from the north were very impressive but also quite crowded with lots of coaches carrying tour and school groups. Apparently this is the most visited attraction in the Grampians and we didn't see these crowds anywhere else in the mountains. We camped at Halls Gap for 4 nights but could have stayed longer. One of the best features is the number of walks that start right from Halls Gap. Some are short and easy, others longer and steeper, and if you are lucky sometimes a loop. For the less energetic or those with children there are also car parks up the mountain making access to the main features like the Balconies and The Pinnacle with their amazing views and the stunning Grand Canyon readily accessible. There are signs of devastation from recent bushfires and a huge flood in 2011, but Vic Parks and local government have done an amazing job rebuilding trails and infrastructure and making most of the range accessible again. We visited in spring and saw lots of wildflowers, plenty of interesting birds and had close encounters with echidnas, wallabies and other native animals.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeN254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I started our walk from Halls Gap to the Pinnacle. Opted for the longer route. Not suitable for the faint hearted. The views were fantastic let alone the rock formation on the way. On the way down we took the longer route to the Wonderland carpark. Explored the Canyon and more rock formations and a waterfall. Took us 5 hours to do the walk but it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pinnacle walk - amazing views”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

You can start the Pinnacle walk from Halls Gap township, but my husband and I opted to take the short drive to Wonderland Carpark and start the walk from there, saving us about 2 hours walking total. Overall the walk is amazing. The 1st part goes through the Grand Canyon, with some stunning rock formations (although it does involve some rock-hopping). The middle part of the walk follows a well formed path and steps gradually uphill through bushland, whilst the last section, through "Silent Street", involves walking through an interesting narrow rocky canyon, and then up a rocky section to the absolutely stunning views at the Pinnacle. The walk is about 4km return and involves a consistent uphill climb on the way up, with some rockhopping involved. We saw quite a few children quite comfortably completing the walk, although you would need to keep a close eye on them at the summit! I would imagine the rocks could get quite slippery during or after rain. Overall a stunning walk, with the sublime views and interesting rock formations well worth the effort. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill140762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southern Grampians Wilderness Resort”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stunning cabins, very quiet and relaxing.....so peaceful
Brilliant place to unwind
On the web and email so easily found
Near Rocklands Resevoir

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren North, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great walking and hiking trails”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have an 8 yo and an 11 yo and we all loved the experience. I had to keep telling my 11 yo to slow down as he kept running ahead, but for those of us who are less active it s a very good challenge. My husband and I did the walk in a better time than most but only due to the fact of younger kids to keep up with. Challenging in some areas and if you do the walk from the caravan park there are lots of steps! Be careful doing the Wonderland walk in the wet as it can get slippery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grampians also viewed

 
Halls Gap, Grampians
Halls Gap, Grampians
 

Been to Grampians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing