We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend a couple of nights when in Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yarra Valley

Yarra Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$286.68*
and up
Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise
Ranked #506 of 2,604 things to do in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wine region about an hour-and-a-quarter's drive from Melbourne.
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple of nights when in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wonderful place to get a variety of experiences. We stayed at the Balgownie Vineyard which was very nice. Wine tasting experience compares favorably to Santa Barbara area. The Healesville Sanctuary, a visit and hike in Bardger Weir, and stop at the Yarra Dairy are all definite worthwhile stops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank plhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a piece of heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The yarra valley is really breathtaking, on offer there are Hot air balloon rides, joy flights, local produce markets, heritage buildings, loads of great wineries of all different sizes and most offering ether cafe or restaurant servive, most also offer wine tastings. One large winerery has top billed entertainers every so often, only down side to that is you must only like there wine as thats the only one offered for sale dueing the concert.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wonderful Yarra Valley with perfect weather.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We decided to have lunch at RACV Club Healesville and travelled through the Yarra Valley on a perfect early spring day. Many comments note the huge variety of wineries and tastings. We decided to go to Healesville for lunch with a stop off at Domaine Chandon on the way. There you can have a snack and a variety of wines including sparkling whites with a view to die for over the valley with the mountain ranges in the background.

We then travelled another 25 minutes to reach the rural township of Healesville and then meandered the 2 km out of town to the modern picturesque RACV Healesville country Club. This is a large contemporary resort and sporting complex with golf course ,tennis courts, indoor pool and spa. It has been well designed and beautifully decorated.

We then walked around the property before visiting the members lounge for a pre lunch drink relaxing in the wonderful leather lounges. This was followed by a spectacular seafood buffet luncheon in the Terrace restaurant. Make sure you do leave room for the deserts, there were several all in small servings, just delicious with a good range of food, service first class with most servers being locals and familiar with the Yarra Valley and passionate as to the whole valley. Then we retreated to the lounge again with its comfortable chairs and superb views for coffee etc.

We finally had a short walk around the perimeter of the golf course and holes closest to the club house.

We had intended to visit the Dairy on the way home for a late afternoon tea, but suffice to say that the beautiful luncheon had left us well satisfied.

We then travelled back to Melbourne via Lilydale.

All in all a terrific day out in a beautiful part of the world on a Spring afternoon. This is an hour and 15 minutes from Melbourne and about 50 minutes from our home. We always come home relaxed, it is so beautiful and is unspoilt by commercialism.

We would also agree and recommend that you select your area and wineries, make a booking for lunch, enjoy the wineries and the many cellar door etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“touring the Yarra Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Yarra Valley is well noted for the wineries also the beautiful scenery.It is well worth the visit.There are tours you can go on if you dont have a car.Another attraction there is Dame Nellie Melbas House.Further on is the very popular Healesville Sanctury also worth a visit.The next place is Yarra Glen .The pub for the counter lunches and the little shops.Not so far away is Jamison or the High Country where The Man from Snowy river was made.The most beautiful scenery you could ever see.Well worth a visit to all of these places.I live on the Gold Coast but love to go back to where i lived for years.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tweedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Yarra Valley with Anthony, Chillout Travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked a local travel Chillout Travel. Anthony our guide & driver came to HQ Habitat to fetch us. It was a very small personal group of 7 members + Anthony.
He was very professional, knowledgable about the wines, hellpful with our enquires and tried to accommodate our request as much as possible.
He took the route that was more scenery with farmlands of sheeps and nice BIG houses rather than the straight direct highway. The hour plus journey was scenic... despite it being winter..
He is very attentive to our group of visitors knowing who could drink more and help with us who does not know much about wine. Both of us were very appreciative.
The cost of the local tour was very resonable too - about AUD108/pax which include 2 glass of wine (one with snacks while another during lunch). All 4 vineyards offer most range of their wines... we took the oppportunity to buy a few bottles back.
( I heard that most vineyard charges about AUD 5 - AUD 10 for each wine-tasting though ours were included)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LIMBKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarra Valley also viewed

Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing