We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moosehead Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$175
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$187
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
44
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
9
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 53 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Jenny's lodge is well situated just a 20 minute drive from Mt Baw Baw resort. With our two families (4 adults and 4 children under 5) it made a great base, the Log fire was brilliant at heating the whole living area and bedrooms. The bunk beds were a huge hit with the children. It was useful to have a TV with DVD player for the kids to chill in front of after an exhausting day at the snow. There is plenty of kitchen space and ideal for two familes with two fridges and two cooker tops. It's well equiped, and with parking outside the front door and bedrooms on one level, it was easy to bring in the masses of ski gear, food, toys etc!
The staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Recommended to anyone who likes home comforts and to be warm and cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola_Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family shared two cottages at Moosehead Lodge, Tanjil Bren. It was perfect for us to enjoy a special time together. The atmosphere of the cottages was lovely, with wood fires, comfortable beds and beautiful environment. We enjoyed going up the mountain to the snow (not far) and lots of lovely walks around the cottages. Everything we needed was there and all the staff were very helpful and accommodating.
You can't appreciate how quiet and peaceful this little town is, so relaxing. We took our dogs with us and they had a great time as well.
Also, feeding the birds each morning and evening was delightful. Currawongs, Crimson and Eastern Rosellas and Kookaburra's. Our granddaughter was delighted. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful and quiet. Very homely and clean. Great friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. Great spot to stay if you want to ski @ BawBaw, quick 10-15min drive. We have 2 young children who loved the talking reindeer head on the wall. Get the micropphone and your voice comes out of the reindeer head. The kids have never laughed so much !!! The lodge made us feel like we'd come to Canada, not 2 hrs from home. Everything was fantastic !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Moosehead lodge really is one of a kind! We had an amazing stay in this quaint little town, the wild life and surrounds are so tranquil! The fire was roaring as we arrived and Nathan one of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The quiet, the fresh air and the lodge just made us feel like we were in Canada or something of the sort. Everything that is needed to keep you cosy and cook up a lovely meal is in provided and the atmosphere around the table with a candle-lit dinner is exactly what we were after! So many beautiful touches around the lodge and more character than Ron Burgundy, we absolutely loved it, can't wait to go back there! Huge thanks to Jenny for being so prompt and fabulous to communicate with, we visited the Toolshed for a meal on the way home and loved it! Cheers Megan x

Room Tip: We had 5 people very comfortably, cosy and warm, nice beds and perfect amount of space!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here with 4 friends over the long Easter weekend and couldn't have found a better place to stay for a relaxing break. The lodge itself is fabulous and atmospheric, and fully equipped with everything you could need to make meals and relax in the tranquillity of the forest.
Having the log fire burning and gas lamps on made the place really cosy and it was great to truly escape the 'commotion' of the city for the weekend.
You definitely want to remember ALL your groceries though - the trip to the shop and back will take up half a day... but that's all part of the experience.
Would highly recommend this place, for a couple, a group or family wanting to get away from it all and breath in some fresh mountain air!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews