We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well appointed”
Review of Moosehead Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moosehead Lodge
Ranked #363 of 1,521 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well appointed”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed here with 4 friends on a wet weekend instead of camping and it was great for that. It's well appointed for cooking and there are plenty of seats and a large table. The covered verandah was great even in the rain and feeding the parrots was fun. Some might see the decor as a bit over the top (it features a singing deer), but it certainly provoked lots of comments. The hosts are friendly and efficient.

Be aware there's only 12 volt electricity, not 240 volts. There's gas for cooking and to run the fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gembrook
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A really enjoyable extended summer weekend break for 4 adults & 1 toddler (3 generations). Whilst a bit OTT with the hunting lodge theme the lodge was quite comfortable, except for the seriously tall bed upstairs which proved a bit challenging, but otherwise OK.
The lodge was well equipped & had a great feel, apart from the chained convicts picture at bottom of staircase. We weren't fully aware of no 240v power, but enjoyed the old fashioned ambience with gas lights/cooking/fridge etc. & also enjoyed the wood fire at night, even in mid-January. The upstairs bedroom got very hot though & really needed maximum ventilation, but could only manage to open 1 small window, which needed to be propped open as tended to swing shut.
Beautiful country with some great walks. We are birdwatchers & were thrilled to see 20+ Wonga Pigeons on the Tramway Track, but beware the leeches in abundance due to previous wet weather. King Parrots & Crimson Rosellas came in multitudes at feeding time on the back verandah.
Nathan, the on-site manager was great, with plenty of local knowledge & advice, an extremely helpful assett.
In a nutshell - a unique venue surrounded with nature & human history. We will certainly consider revisiting.

Room Tip: Ensure adequate ventilation to upstairs bedroom in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great original style house in the treetops we were so relaxed and had a great time at Moosehead Lodge. Great set up, comfy house beautiful deck to relax on, lovely hosts. We stayed while it was 39 degrees in Melbourne but a beautiful 29 degrees up at Tanjil Bren. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grtbej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had a great time, comfortable beds, well equiped kitchen. Cozy warm fire with lots of wood supplied. Loved the feel and ambience of the gas lights and candles. The children were so thrilled with the birds feeding from their hands.
Only 30mins drive to Bawbaw so a great spot to stay when visiting the snow.
Would love to return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and 3 children stayed at Reindeer Lodge next to Moosehead Lodge. Kim and Cov were wonderful hosts and had our coonara loaded with wood and on each day before we got back from the snow.

An easy 20 min trip to Mt Baw Baw (plus time for putting on snow chains which can be hired across the road).

Buck the reindeer and feeding the parrots were a real treat and getting back to basics (no electricity - gas lights - gas stove, whistle blowing kettle, etc) was a great way for our family to spend time with each other. They have toys, etc but we took Monopoly and card games and had family games each night after a day at the snow.

Del's Hall has table tennis, pool table and other things to keep the kids entertained. You can use their bikes or toboggans.

Beautiful views from balcony and walking tracks nearby.

It's definitely an escape from city life as the nearest petrol pump and general store are in Noojee about 30 mins away so make sure you have all your food, etc.

Comfortable beds with warm doonas (you supply pillow cases and sheets). Wonderful comfy couch where I spent a day cuddled up in front of the fire reading a book!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidget67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was the first time our family had been to see snow. We booked into reindeer lodge and couldnt have been happier. This rustic little old cabin at the bottom of Mount Baw Baw was awesome. Warm and cosy ( plenty of room , the bedrooms were great ). Loved coming home to a nice warm fire and our hosts couldnt have been more accomodating , thanks Kim & Cov . Would recommend this place to anyone and would love to go back and spend more time there. Fantastic!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank charmain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

It was all about sitting around a warm fire on a cold weekend with good friends in a unique snow chalet peaceful environment. That was a boys weekend away so some of us are planning a return with wives next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandjanlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
17.2 mi away
Walhalla's Star Hotel
Walhalla's Star Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walhalla
230 reviews
9.6 mi away
Toorongo River Chalets
15.9 mi away
Neerim Country Cottages
Neerim Country Cottages
#2 of 4 in Neerim South
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Vivere Retreat
Vivere Retreat
#1 of 3 in Neerim South
150 reviews
78.5 mi away
Ski Club of East Gippsland
Ski Club of East Gippsland
#3 of 6 in Hotham Heights
2 reviews
78.6 mi away
Alpine Heights
Alpine Heights
#3 of 12 in Mount Hotham
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moosehead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moosehead Lodge

Property: Moosehead Lodge
Address: Tramline Road | Tanjil Bren, Victoria 3833, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 1,521 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moosehead, Reindeer & Jenny's Cottages are located a scenic 2.5 hour drive east of Melbourne adjacent to Mt Baw Baw National Park.These self contained cottages are decorated in a rustic country charm reminiscent of a bygone era.Surrounded by tall mountain ash gums and giant tree ferns.Hand feed the rosellas, king parrots and kookaburras. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing