We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Smolt

Smolt
Ranked #25 of 600 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was a welcome break after horrible food at Mures. Good food, good service. The price is slightly on the higher side but guess its the price for the location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kedar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    492
    191
    58
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ego Exceeds Ability”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a very high recommendation from a visitor to Hobart so decided to book and experience Smolt as the last meal of our trip. Food was good, but not worthy of the rave reviews we had heard regarding their food, service was poor as staff were forgetful but what really let the whole night down for us was the attitude of the Restaurant Manager. He was so aloof at handling our requests it was almost like we were too much trouble. It was not an inexpensive night at this restaurant and we would have expected a much friendlier service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Sunday night oasis”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Four of us had arrived in Hobart late on a Saturday and visited Salamanca Square looking for somewhere to eat. We managed to get a table in Smolt even though it was full and we proceeded to have a very good meal which was served fairly promptly. The atmosphere was excellent and we were delighted that we had happened upon the restaurant. Two of us returned without a booking the next night and other than having to wait a little longer for two spots on a shared table, we again had a most enjoyable meal. The staff were very helpful and were able to look after our needs without any fuss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Interesting, certainly popular”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Arrived late on a Weds night, but still very busy at Smolt. Owner seemed to have good rapport with the regulars. Outside chairs are not very comfortable - we chose to sit outside as the only inside tables available were very close to the bright warming lights of the kitchen. Menu didn't feature much of the beautiful Tasmanian seafood, which was a disappointment. Ended up having lamb, which was average.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Order from the sea!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Smolt came recommended to us by our hotel as one of the best restaurants in Hobart and it did not disappoint. The mussels were delicious, as they better be while you're in Tasmania, but the salmon sold the deal. In fact, it easily won our table taste-test hands down. The chirizo infused the salmon with a smokie flavor and made for a very unique and conversation stopping dish. The decor is relaxed, but smart and comfortable, but sophisticated. Overall, a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linney_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smolt also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Smolt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing