We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee was average”
Review of Barilla Bay

Barilla Bay
Ranked #173 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coffee was average”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The setting is great, right near the airport and an awesome building. The toilets smelt tho and the coffee was very average. Visited early March.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julz012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    78
    40
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Another Tasmanian overrated and overpriced tourist attraction. Going by the staff and all the signage it is geared towards the overseas market and not the local tourist market.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomads2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“shucking awesome”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

had the shucking awesome platter which was fantastic - the oysters were really fresh and provided us with some different toppings that weren't found elsewhere. had a couple of entrees to accompany the shucking awesome platter which were decent enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bloocw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced & not great”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hubby & I went here recently for a decadent lunch but sadly it didn't live up to our high expectations. We paid $150 for a seafood platter and a bottle of wine - NOT CHEAP (the platter was $120) so we were expecting great things for that price. Sadly the platter was - well - uninspired. It came with 3 dipping sauces though we weren't told what they were or what part of the dish to have with which sauce. It turns out the sauces were soy, basic cocktail sauce & something else basic which I've already forgotten - no hand crafted culinary genius here. It was very basic fare - with some things (some sort of mushy daikon/carrot sushi like square topped with nori) which was frankly awful. Squid wasn't super tender and dusted in some sort of dukkah which IMO just didn't work. Salmon cubes were unseasoned and served cold (really not nice!) We ordered a side of veggies and sadly they looked like they had come from a discount pub meal - no finesse at all (corn, carrot, sweet pot, beans, potato). Best thing was the scallop pie - though I did find a beard in mine. Wine was great (Cape Bernier Pinot Gris). View was odd - could have been spectacular but they've planted the wrong trees which have now grown too tall and the factory sheds make more of a feature than the lovely water view.
Staff were very friendly.
Would I race back - NO. I'd suggest ordering something other than the seafood platter - maybe the chef was more inspired with other dishes?!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMak7025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Out of town secret”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The menu was short but interesting. We discovered there was a few interesting specials after we
had ordered. We had not been offered these. They did have an amazing seafood platter for
$120 but full of excellent varied seafood. The dozen oysters done in six different ways was
also excellent for oyster lovers and very reasonably priced. The desserts were $12 and a bit
different. Had the spanish donuts with various sauces which was very tasty. The Bombe Alaska
sounded quirky and interesting - maybe next time. The girls were all lovely but a bit disorganised.
It is a lovely spot with great views. The wines were reasonably priced. Have dined here in the past, was not disappointed and would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barilla Bay also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Cambridge, Clarence
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Seven Mile Beach, Clarence
 

Been to Barilla Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing