We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downstairs as rude as upstairs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barilla Bay

Barilla Bay
Ranked #191 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Downstairs as rude as upstairs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

After my previous poor experience upstairs, I shouldn't have gone back again but I thought that coffee downstairs might be a safe proposition on my way through.
The coffee was average but what ruined the experience was that the woman behind the counter was rude enough to my young child to make her cry. My daughter is a bit shy so I am trying to encourage her to do more things herself. I sent her to the counter to pay for a chocolate she wanted but the price was poorly labelled and what I had thought was enough wasn't. The woman behind the counter basically told her to get lost and sent her away in tears.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    73
    39
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great choice oyster dressings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

With so many choices of oyster dressings we found it hard to make a decision. Fortunately they offer a platter that allows you to combine a few. Our main meals were all very tasty, however the salmon dish was a little bland. Staff were attentive and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Poor Overall Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have loved the Barilla Bay restaurant in the past, but it appears to have gone downhill over the last few years and has recently reached an all new low. We went to the restaurant for a 60th birthday and on arriving were assaulted by the noise of a large number of people standing around in the restaurant area having drinks and making it difficult to get to our table. When we did get there there was no tablecloth on the table (which had dirty looking marks on it) and the floor was covered in crumbs and bits of food - not a good first impression.

The service was reasonable and our meals arrived at the same time, but the food was below average and at least one of the fish and chips meals was oily and inedible, presumably due to the oil not being hot enough when it was cooked.

Overall I feel that this is now one of Tasmania's least impressive restaurants and anyone seeking decent meal in the Hobart area would be better off heading to one of the Coal Valley vineyards or into the city itself where there are many nicer places to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Price hike! What's the point in coming anymore.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Really dissapointed to see that the oyster prices have gone up 25% for the 30 oyster platter. The prices are now prohibative given the price and atmosphere available in hobart cbd. Although, the oysters taste spectacular and the sides and main meals are very generous.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I love oysters. And Barilla bay has some really good tasting ones. They are cheaper compared to those found in Sydney's fish market. It's great value.

I have not been to the restaurant, so cannot comment on the food.

The oysters are shucked and sold in boxes. I'd prefer it shucked on the spot. ;(

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kc_chan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barilla Bay also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Cambridge, Clarence
 
Seven Mile Beach, Clarence
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Barilla Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing