We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best pies I've ever had”
Review of Jackman & McRoss

Jackman & McRoss
Ranked #1 of 14 Bakeries in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best pies I've ever had”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Loved this place. In our 48 hours in Hobart we went twice, just because the first time was so good. First time we had the rabbit pie, and wow was it good!

On a cool Hobart morning this place is great to sit in the window and watch the world go by.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieDogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    448
    110
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Found this bakery while walking around Battery Point, its a must the food is just delicious as well as the coffee/tea. There are so many wonderful morsels to try its too hard to choose.
YUM.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Cedarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh yum!”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Great bakery style cafe. We were in Hobart five years ago and remebered this amazing place. We were thrilled it was stilling going, with enormously tasty treats and this time the added advantage of a additional location about a block from where we were staying. Great coffee and range of baked sweet and savoury treats. We had breakfast here for all three days we were in Hobart and still crave it now we are back home, My husband loved the breakfast pie, while I enjoyed the range of vege breakfast options. Yum!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe.”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Food is great. Very busy and typical of these kind of places service is a little slow but friendly. Tables are a little small and I wish there were more tables outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arctickoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Oh my, Oh my, Oh My! Heaven!”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

How do they do it? This place has food to rival the cafes in Paris! The details and the thought that go into their daily offerings are truly wonderful. Staff are great even though the place is busy from the moment they open. They have an ever changing menu of home made pies as well.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harry036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackman & McRoss also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Jackman & McRoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing