We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Angelo Ristorante

Da Angelo Ristorante
Ranked #4 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We got a 8.30pm sitting for two. The service was quick and the food delicious. We had the stracahiatella soup (simple broth with an egg) as a light starter. For mains the chicken risotto (wife loved it) and I had the Nicolleta spaghetti (?) special...prawn, sqid, mussels etc in a garlic sauce...brilliant. Huge helpings so could not finish. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TennysonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    277
    64
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Overall is very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I went to this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Overall is good. Looks like the place is famous with pizza, the menu is rich of pizza, pasta and some meat. I had a nice minestrone but not so nice gnocchi, it was over cooked and too soft while fresh ravioli was good. Ambiance is vibrant and booking is preferred.

Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Pasta & Great Deserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Context: Family from Melbourne who loves Italian. Our regular place for the past 20 years is Lygon St, Carlton - so you could say we really know Italian! ;-)

The Food

Spaghetti carbonara. Pasta was cooked perfectly. Size of the bacon was great. The carbonara sauce was a little runnier than I expected, but still good.

Spaghetti Bolognese was excellent.

Vegetali pasta was very tasty. Perfect option for vegetarians.

Hot chocolate was generous size with marshmallows.

Creme brûlée was the best I'd ever had anywhere. Truly magnificent - whoever made it should be given a medal.

Pros

* Service was very polite. A waitress apologized for not taking our order earlier (she was flat out).

* High quality ingredients.

* Deserts are really amazing.

Cons

* No kids sized menu options. This is a big issue for families. If you can't persuade the kids to share a pizza, it's going to get really expensive. As the entree serving size is generous, its just too much for kids.

* Not fast. It took approx 45 mins to get our main meals.

* Staff upstairs were very busy at times. I have no doubt they were doing their best. I suspect it's pretty tough for them to run up and down stairs all the time.

Overall

Would I go back? That depends on the circumstances.

- With family - no.
- Romantic couples night out - yes.
- Work dinner - yes.

Overall: 8/10 (would have been 9 if it were a little less expensive).

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“'Nothing's changed, but when it's the best..'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to visit Hobart after an absence of some time. Organising a night out with family, it was a unanimous decision to dine out at our favourite Italian restaurant in Hobart, D’Angelos’. I am so pleased that we did. Nothing has changed!

Owners and staff are genuinely interested in their customers; warmly welcoming you on arrival, making sure that you are happy with your table and seating arrangement, attentive during your meal but not intrusive; they are interested in what you have to say whether about the food or any other topic, not just making ‘polite conversation.’ They are knowledgeable about all the food on the menu and super efficient. Top this off with exquisite food.

Tomato based sauces are rich in a superb blending of flavours, but are not overpowering. Cream sauces are subtly enhanced, the consistency just right. Vegetables quickly blanched, retain their colour and crunch. Meat cooked to perfection. I could go on and on.

We started our meal with a herb pizza bread followed by different choices of the scallopini (veal) dishes, scallopini pizzaiola, scallopini vino e crema and scallopini limone, all mouth-wateringly delicious. Replete after our main courses but not wanting to forfeit dessert we shared a superb creme brulee served with house pistachio icecream. To accompany our meal we chose a bottle of 4 Sisters Savignon Blanc.

I repeat, nothing’s changed, but when it’s the best why would you want it to. D’Angelos’ for exquisite Italian cuisine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whilst recently holidaying in Hobart we had the good fortune of dining at Da Angelo Ristorante. We had booked the day before but the earliest they could find us a table was 8pm as it was an extremely busy night (however I suspect every night is busy). The service was very good and the owner seemed genuinely interested in our thoughts on the dining experience. All that aside, the consensus was that it was the best Pizza we had ever eaten (and we have eaten a lot)! Can't wait to go back next time I am in Hobart. Absolutely fantastic!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank San57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Angelo Ristorante also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Da Angelo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing