We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply: Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Provencal

Le Provencal
Ranked #119 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $17 - $21
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
279 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Simply: Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit. Blown away by the charming ambience, the aromas wafting from the kitchen, the friendly and professional service, the divine food.
We can't wait to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sauces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely rustic farmhouse ambience. The sauces are authentic and Julie's service attentive and friendly. Sometimes you can pre-order garlic brains. A quality Hobart restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anneliese95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Strong Provence flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a small restaurant full of big French flavours! The food is classical provincial French, the service is relaxed and the atmosphere is intimate. The Chef offers a small menu of about 6 entrées and six mains plus desserts. Presentation of the dishes is suburb and the flavours are big and strong! But be prepared for a 2-3 hour experience - no rushing here. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the strong point of the dishes are the superb sauces. Entrees are around $20 and mains at about $35.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

As the name of the restaurant suggests the food is typical French food from the south of France. It was our last night in Hobart so we wanted something different and it is about a 10 min walk from the centre of town and on a lovely evening it set up our appetites. The service is very good and although we were there early, the restaurant filled rapidly. I had the Coq au Vin which was exactly how it should be and was exceptionally tasty. This restaurant is well worth the effort if on a trip to Hobart.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best French food in Tassie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We eat here a few times a year (all anniversaries and birthdays!) and it's always amazing. It's not open for many days of the week and you should book a few weeks ahead to get a table but it's worth it. There's not a really large menu, but all of it is wonderful. I always go for whatever the duck dish is of the season (and it's always phenomenal) and my husband always has the steak and frites as he can't get past the fries, well cooked steak and amazing sauce.

Actually, I think the chef must specialise in sauces as they are just stunning. I think the chef is French and his wife, who does all the front of house by herself, is Australian. Considering it always just seems to be the two of them, they do well to get that quality of food out in a timely manner.

The desserts are always fabulous as well.

The restaurant itself is quite small, a couple of small rooms decked out in a rustic French farmhouse type feeling, with really clever trompe l'oeil over the walls.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Provencal also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing