We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot great food”

Mai Ake Asian Cuisine
Ranked #351 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Thai, Asian, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hobart
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely spot great food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner here midweek. I had red curry duck and a multigrain rice which was delicious! All others enjoyed their meals and the staff were attentive (but not hovering) and very friendly. Saw some other delicious things on the menu like prawns with egg and curry powder an old fave of mine and duck pancakes. We will be back very soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annierat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“what's happened to the pad Thai?”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the dishes I remember from the North Hobart Mai Ake is the pad Thai, so on the strength of my previous memory of this dish I couldn't go past ordering it. My husband ordered the chicken green curry and we shared duck rolls for entree. Entree was very good but the mains were not so. Whilst the green curry flavor was good, there was a lot of skin and bone and lots of potato - it was suggested at the time of ordering that we might also like to order rice - with all the potato it was completely unnecessary. Pad Thai didn't have the wonderful flavors as I remembered previously. Prices were expensive but I guess with such a prime location they need to charge extra to cover rent. Sadly, disappointing but hope it will improve as it is in such a lovely location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanaLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice food, staff not helpful”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have been here a few times, each time to wonderful Thai food, very reasonably priced. However on each occasion there have been issues with staff. More recently - my partner (who is a Coeliac and thus gluten free) was not able to have any of the desserts on the menu due to dietary requirements and instead asked if he could have a second main (willing to pay full price). The waitress rudely said no he could not and continued to make a few rude comments. When another member of our party asked to speak to the manager we were refused that, with no other option - just flatly refused! Not a great experience. Aside from other issues we've had with staff, lovely food and a nice atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice-and-Alex-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Used to be good - but not since moving.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Small menu, in attentive wait staff, very pricy, cold room. Duck rice roll entree was good, Bland pad Thai, good beef curry. Mai Ake chicken (main) too dry to eat - still came up on bill. Didn't bother with dessert. So disappointed, this place was great at old venue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal. Terrific service.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful lunch at Mai Ake on the waterfront at Salamanca. On arrival we were so graciously greeted at the front door and shown to our table overlooking the water. Our waiter was so helpful and courteous throughout our meal. We ordered the steamed fish and duck curry and both were flavorful and delicious. Lovely surroundings, beautiful food that is good value for money and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonellaEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Ake Asian Cuisine also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mai Ake Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing