We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One out of the box! Definitely worth a visit.”
Review of Castle Zayee

Castle Zayee
Ranked #329 of 597 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $9 - $52
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One out of the box! Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Had read a few reviews on this place, must have been a reception place in a past life, you certainly don't expect such great yum cha and Chinese food in general when in a castle. When we rocked up to this out of the way address with the family my wife said to "it's on your head do you really want to go in there?" Luckily I backed my judgement or the reviews I had read on TA, because we were not disappointed. Our 3 boys were also kept thoroughly entertained by the owners daughter, who had great chats with the boys and then finished with a game of pool with them. Yes, it is an old tavern too and there is a pool table and jukebox in the room next door. Decor tacky, however for a family it's perfect and importantly the food was terrific and by reasonably priced. When we come back to Hobart we'd be happy to visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    30
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right Food Right staff Ridiculous setting!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food and staff and price make this great value for Hobart. You will love it especially when the boss' daughter make an impromptu visit to your table! Very clever little girl

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't believe people don't flock to this Gem.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I are regular visitors to Caslte Zayee and still cannot believe that all of Hobart doesn't flock to this absolute Gem of a venue. Afterall it's only a 6 or 7 minute drive to the centre of Hobart. The food continues to be of a high and tasty standard. The staff are all friendly and welcoming and most of all the prices are very reasonable. If you like Chinese food check this place out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum cha in a castle! Fabulous.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overall,a fantastic experience! Service a little slow to begin, but wait staff were lovely, repeating orders to us so they ensured we got the right dishes. For three hungry people, it averaged out to $30 for each for a very filling and delicious lunch. Everything was fresh and presented nicely. The chilli paste to go with dumplings is fantastic. Compared
to Mee Wah, a little less expensive bit the main difference there is the wine List and impeccable service. Castle Zayee is more charming though. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bugg_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited this venue for the fifth or sixth time and again appreciated the friendly service and great food. We are always amazed that this gem isn't more busy. Well worth a trip past the North Hobart strip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Zayee also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Greater Hobart, Tasmania
 
Greater Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Castle Zayee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing