We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Me Wah

Me Wah
Ranked #6 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $229
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We met a couple on a foodie tour of hobart who recommended this place. You never really know but we gave it a shot anyway. Service was impeccable and the food - absolutely superb. We ended up enjoying a degustation styled dinner as we couldn't choose between the many items we wanted to try on the menu. Just to name a few, the Mongolian styled lamb was delicious with notes of sake included in the sauce, the crispy pork belly cubes, 3 types of hand crafted seafood dumplings, and the salt and spicy bug tail and squid with crispy sugar coated bok choy was a beautiful sweet and spicy combination for the pallet. The finale of a coconut creme brûlée perfectly crisp on top and the accompanying kumera croquette with oozing custard was sublime. The wine list was nearly 40 pages long with one of their red wines selling for $33000 - yes $33k not a typo here! The service was attentive and waiters were fun but not intrusive so it was equally as perfect as the food - would certainly recommend this memorable food experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    109
    47
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
566 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love coming here for the tasting menu, the scallops are the largest I have ever seen, the food is delicious and exquisite and beautifully presented, the service is fantastic and a vast wine list with a sommelier to help you choose, but one can't go past matching the food and wine for each course. The atmosphere is very personal, the amenities are very clean with your own hand towel. The best restaurant in Hobart by far!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent a couple of nights in Hobart and heard good reports about this place in sandy bay. The space itself is pretty average, however the service is wonderful and the food is excellent. The duck in mandarin pancake was exceptional. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We had heard so much about how amazing this restaurant was and we were very excited about going. Service is absolutley amazing but as far as saying that this is the best Chinese food around, we just couldn't see it. Entree was great but mains were boring. We both ordered a meat dish and that's exactly what we got. No veggies just meat. The rice we ordered with mains was dished out by the waiter so if you wanted more, you could not help yourself but had to wait for it to be brought around. Wine list pretty amazing. We didnt have to pay as our friends treated us, but quite frankly didnt think it was good value for money. No overwheming desire to make a return visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and beautiful food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Lets be honest, Chineae restaurants have a bad reputation typically.. Do not judge this book by its cover.

Me Wah is a lovely restaurant serving beautiful contemporary Chinese food with out of this world service from every staff member.

The wine list is enormous and has a bottle for every budget ($49 - $33,000).

Would highly recommend a visit to Me Wah. Certainly one of, if not the best Chinese restaurant I have ever visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me Wah also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Me Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing