We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTREME TRAFFIC NOISE & URGENTLY NEEDS MAINTENANCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“EXTREME TRAFFIC NOISE & URGENTLY NEEDS MAINTENANCE”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

STAYED 6 DAYS / 5 NIGHTS IN ROOM 210 (2ND FLOOR) ON DAVEY STREET SIDE.
We got a good rate of $135 p.n. for 1 bedroom apartment. I guess you get what you pay for, that is true - but filth & noise should not be part of the deal for a 4 star rated apartment. The good aspect of the apartment was how roomy it was and its proximity to Sandy Bay & Salamanca Place (lots of restaurants & Saturday markets are great).
PROBLEMS:
Noise: This building is on the corner of Sandy Bay Road & Davey Street. Davey Street has been changed to a 3 lane one way speedway through the city. Even though the loungeroom windows appeared to be double-glazed, the traffic noise was horrendous! We could not sleep. The bedroom window was not double-glazed.
Filth: The kitchen looks like a recent addition with a refurbishment at some stage (very old building) but it had bearly been cleaned. The microwave/convection oven had left- over food spills inside. The carpet was so dirty that I had other people's long blonde & brown hair all over my socks from walking on the carpet. There was broken glass on the floor behind the bathroom door & bits of plastic. There was mould around the base of the glass in the shower recess & mould accummulated on the soap dish. The lounge was dirty & had spill & other marks all over the upholstery. The bathroom drains stank. We put the waste bin over the floor drain & poured eucalyptus down the sink/shower drains.
Maintenance: The bathroom circular handtowel holder came away & the cup holder was falling off. One of the Dining chair backs was bent back, so you felt like you would fall backwards.
Comfort: The sofa was low & very uncomfortable. The one tub chair was fine. The bed was king zipped - but as hard & lumpy as you will every experience. The pillows - there were 6 but they were all really soft or lumpy. We rolled up our towels & slept on them. That is another thing....5 nights and no housekeeping. Only a towel each, hand towel & bathmat. If you need additional linen or housekeeping before 7 days, there are additional charges.
Car Parking: We were advised it is limited basement parking @ $10 p.n., but it is very small and cramped. Everywhere in Hobart the street parking is limited so you really have to get hotel parking.
Staff: This is the best part. The staff were always lovely. They smiled and greeted us everytime we came and went. They also gave us a couple of towels when we explained why we needed them. The friendly staff are their biggest asset.

I have sent feedback to Mantra but not had a reply, so I felt compelled to warn other travellers so that they don't have their holiday to the beautiful city of Hobart spoilt, as we did!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay, I regret the shortcomings in services you have reported from housekeeping and your dissatisfaction with room the presentation. I apologise that we did not respond to your feedback when originally send as we like to make a point of addressing any concerns that our guest have promptly, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail should you wish. It heartens me to hear that you found the staff both friendly and helpful.

Regards, Koby Eastwood, Hotel Manager Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    297
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
131
314
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Mantra One is an awesome hotel. Right in the heart of Hobart and just steps from Salamanca, I think this is a must stay. For our girls' trip, we were looking for a boutique hotel that offered something uniquely different from the standard hotels without being bed & breakfast type accommodations (more difficult to find in Hobart than you'd think). Mantra is boutique/chic without being stuffy, laid back without being lazy, charming without being painfully quaint. The staff is beyond friendly. Awesome town...awesome hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorksha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for providing your feedback we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while travelling with family. The hotel is in a great location opposite St David's Park and and a short walk to Salamanca Markets. The room we were given was on the Sandy Bay Road side so we suffered through traffic noise and also the noise from all the drunks on the way home once the pubs shut. Probably the worst though was the noise that the old lift made every time it went up and down - we were on the 5th floor and could hear it when it left the ground floor.

Parking onsite is $10 p/night and is limited so make sure you book ahead - we were only able to get parking onsite for the third night of our stay as it was fully booked for the first two. And then the receptionist gave us the wrong code to the night safe to get the remote out for the car park. Luckily there was an intercom that we could use to call the manager to get the right code.

The apartment itself was average, a bedroom and lounge/ sitting area with a kitchen in between. The sitting area was sparsely decorated and seemed a bit empty. The kitchen is modern complete with dishwasher and is equipped with everything you need, and there is a washing machine/dryer in the bathroom. The bed was queen size and was the most uncomfortable one we slept in throughout our holiday.

If you plan on booking this hotel maybe ask to be put in the rooms on the other side of the hotel which may be quieter. We wouldn't book here again as even though the location was great it didn't make up for the 3 nights of broken sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects or your stay, our room are currently been enhanced by the installation of new appliances throughout. We encourage guest to call prior to arrival to pre book our car park due to our limited availability and to also make any special request that will ensure a comfortable stay. Once again my apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards,
Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

What a dissapointment. We made reservations six months previous to our trip and wound up with a room overlooking a busy street right across from the " Welcome Stranger Hotel" for backpackers. When the noise of the street slowed down, the noise from the bar started with people outside smoking and being noisey.

The info on the place stated that we would beautiful views of either a park or the marina. We had neither.

More importantly, the place has a strange odor sort of like new low class carpeting. The only window in the apt. does not open and there are no fans to circulate air. It is clearly an old apartment building tarted up. There are no services at all so am not sure what
this really is but an apartment for in and out use. It appears to be a place for a lower end clientele which we are not.

The Internet was slow and outrageously expensive.

Not only will we never return but will file a complaint with the travel agent that sent us to this dump. It is not a place for dignified people to stay. The main factor is that there is only one door to the apt. and we had a concern about what to do in the event of a fire.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annec97757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, it disappoints me to hear that you found the street noise uncomfortable, whilst the property is located in the CBD we are able to offer apartment throughout the building that are away from roads should this be a requirement, we are also happy to take request for particular views and will do our upmost to accommodate these requests. Our property consists of self contained apartments and whilst we don’t service apartment daily we do provide weekly servicing for booking of seven or more nights and are also happy to provide additional servicing or amenities upon request. Our fire safety and general safety procedures are of the upmost importance and fire evacuation procedure and exits are in place. I do apologies that our property was not suited to your requirements.
Regards,
Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Stayed at the Mantra One Sandy Bay Road for three nights with a family member (my mum). Hotel is in a GREAT location - less than 5 mins walk to Salamanca Market, and less than 10 min walk to the restaurants and shops on the waterfront. Also only about a 10 min walk to Hobart City Centre.
Room was modern, clean, and very spacious - it had a separate lounge and sleeping area, including a well-appointed little kitchen in between the two. Comfortable beds and a large/clean/new bathroom. Lovely views of the bay and surrounding Battery Point through the (small) window.
Booked room through a 'last minute' website (two months before!) for an excellent price.
Highly recommended hotel, in a great area of Hobart.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liss0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
I’m glad that you and your mum enjoyed our apartments, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It sounds like you made the most of our close proximity to the highlights of Hobart.
Regards,
Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Extremely large studio apartments, well equipped and great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisefound69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments, thank you for your comments.

Regards,
Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

great accommodation, these are actually serviced apartments and as such offer great space. All the comforts of home.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kessr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you, your feedback is appreciated and glad to hear you enjoyed our apartments.
Regards,

Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing