We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Salamanca market!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is just next to the Salamanca market and a short walk to Hampden road brings you to the lovely Jackman and Mcross bakery. On top of that, the apartments are clean and well equipped. Though our washing machine wasnt working well, Abhay at reception made efforts to ensure that we could get our clothes washed in another room so it wasnt a problem at all. just note that you need to pre-book a parking space if you are driving!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjogoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Location is such an important part of going on vacation for so many guests and great to read that you enjoyed ours. I will pass on my thanks to Abhay as exceeding our guests expectations is what we constantly try to achieve. It seems on this ocassion he has done just that.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 792 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I get down to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road fairly reguarly, always good service and well appointed rooms comfortable clean rooms. Restaurants are plentiful in Salamanca which is just a quick walk, so the location is spot on. Book car parking if you need secure onsite, otherwise there is plenty of street parking adjacent to the hotel that is only metered during the day during the week and free all weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at Mantra One Sandy Bay. Great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us again and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed here three times over the last three months for work. The rooms are self contained with kitchenette and laundry facilities and are spacious and comfortable. The location is great - a short walk through the park to Salamanca, where there are plenty of great choices for meals and a store to pick up supplies for breakfast (no restaurant or room service in the hotel). Reception has limited opening hours (especially during winter), but we had no problems accessing room keys when arriving outside the opening hours.

Room Tip: Some rooms over the car park side of the hotel have better views over the park and city. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFamilyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location so central.
I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again on your next visit to Hobart.

regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place could be better if they had a better bed and pillows. I could forgive the other shortcomings but a good sleep is essential. I've stayed in many hotels before but this Mantra's bed and pillows just says budget motel all over it and I was reminded of it throughout the night.

PROS:
Spacious well appointed room, pleasure to be in
Great front desk personnel

CONS:
Not the best housekeeping (once a week and not totally thorough at it)
Bed and pillows
Reduced front desk hours

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I was disappointed to read that you didn't get a good nights sleep because of the bed. It is quite interesting how we receive such mixed feedback about the bedding and pillows. I guess a lot comes down to personal preference.
I will definitely speak with the housekeeping team to ensure that when they do their weekly cleans, that they are doing it thoroughly.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay.

regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Underground parking was handy, position was great, handy to the docks and a short walk to town centre, room was clean tidy and well appointed, good size rooms, heat lamps in bathroom an added bonus in winter, in room heating worked great compared to some places we stayed in on our trip, staff could not have been more helpful, will stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

It's always great to receive feedback like this. It makes what we do all the more worthwhile and needless to say pleasurable. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is in a very central location if you are visiting Hobart and want to be in close vicinity of attractions like the Salamanca Market, the wharf & restaurants. The hotel is quite basic and not well thought out in its structure, as we had to enter through the lobby then across an enclosed car park to another lift tower to get to our rooms. The rooms are quite large for the price you pay - containing a kitchenette and living area. If you aren't looking for any extras then this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Great to read that you enjoyed the central location and the actual rooms of the hotel. I agree that it is a slightly odd structure having to cross a small under cover carpark to gain access to half the hotel rooms but the upside is we have parking and it is undercover.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent the night here in a twin room. The young lady on the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room is modern and very big. It contains 2 TV's, kitchen, washer and dryer and fairy comfy beds and lounges. It is pretty new inside and is close to the CBD...in fact, a 5 minute walk to Salamanca Markets and all the popular pubs and restaurants. A great stay for a very good price. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank tbate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay on your next visit to Hobart.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the heritage and culture of Tasmania's capital from one of Hobart's most charming hotels, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Located just minutes from the CBD, Salamanca Market, and world-famous Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), Mantra One Sandy Bay Road hotel offers comfort and convenience at a great price. Our spacious Studio, One Bedroom Executive and One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments offer internet access, Foxtel, air-conditioning and kitchens. Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars are a stroll away from Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Discover Tasmania's best food and wine at Salamanca, Battery Point, Sandy Bay and Hobart's CBD. *Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arrange after hours check in). **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $20 per night but MUST be pre-booked in advance with the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing