We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location,Location,Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Adelaide
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location,Location,Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My daughter, her 4month old baby and I recently stayed for 3 nights in a front room on the 4th floor. A superb view, clean spacious room and a well catered for baby! A short stroll through a delightful park and we were in Salamanca, across two roads and we were in a unique shopping area and a most fascinating waltz up and around Battery Point. All most worthy of a great review. One slight funny aspect is the small Reception area then a tricky access via the underground car park to the actual rooms. After the first day we discovered a much less complicated room access.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It was great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay on your next visit to Hobart.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    264
    123
    45
    31
See reviews for
109
288
36
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times and the location of this hotel is close to Salamanca and all of its restaurants. The rooms of this apartment hotel are oversized due to the conversion of this old building. The furniture is functional but not overly comfortable especially the beds which are like sleeping on a board.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for sending your feedback through as this enables us to see and hear what is important to our guests and allows us to continue to improve on what we are already doing. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so you can see for yourself the improvements we are constantly making.

regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is good and they do offer underground parking for a fee. Clean enough but the rooms are oddly laid out, applicances are not the most reliable, staff forgetful and basicly don't care. Spent a week in Tasmania and this was the worst place we stayed in by far. I have stayed in a fair few of these new type of hotel/apartment type places and these failed in a lot of ways. The location is good but I would look elsewhere. It wasnt cheap either!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulankford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback through. I am very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and will definately be speaking with the team to ensure they are aware of our guests perceptions of our levels of service.
I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again in the near future so you can see for yourself the ongoing improvements we are making.

regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during Mid Feb with a friend. We booked a 1 bedroom studio which was very spacious. 1 Queen bed and also a lounge room, small kitchen facility, laundry facility, shower.
Definately a great location and only walking distance to Salamanca Market and cafes/restaurants.
Parking onsite the hotel was available for additional $10 per day (which is reasonable but would had been a treat if it was complimentary).
The staff were friendly and helpful also. I would recommend staying here as it's a great location and also room for the rental car which you don't have to worry about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome and efficient check in process. Room was large and clean, though the couch could do with replacing/recovering. Good location with easy access to city, Salamanca and the wharf area. A full size ironing board would be an improvement.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The mantra in Hobart was the best accommodation we stayed in whilst our fortnight trip to tassy. The rooms are incredibly spacious and very well equip. A stones throw from Salamanca and a quick walk to one of the most beautiful part of tassy, battery point, the accommodation was magic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briannamccoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location, close to Salamanca Place. Has good secure parking though remember to organise with your booking. Friendly staff. Large room, slightly odd layout but clean and comfortable.

I mentioned cons, really only minor. These apartments are not serviced and you are expected to be a little self sufficient. However if self catering and staying for a week be prepared to go do some shopping for items such as dishwashing liquid, salt, pepper alfoil, toilet paper etc. Now I'm average height and it was difficult to get dishes and bowls from the top cupboards. Also needed to wash all the platess and stove before using - and I'm not that fussy. Perhaps a little more attention required when doing the room clean between visitors.

If I am down this way again with a car I would stay here again, but if flying in for another weeks stay I give another place a try.

Travelling for work involving a weeks stay in Hobart. It wasn't bad but I believe that there is better available for the same price.

Room Tip: If after a room with a view ask for with a number ending in 8 to 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing