We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived Saturday, tired and way earlier than checkin. Greeted by Megan who was fantastic, warm and super friendly...we were able to check in earlier. Thankyou Megan....Rosemary another lady that works in the office part is equally as fantastic as Megan. Clean, tidy and exceptionally comfortable bed.
Thankyou Megan and Rosemary. Staff like you are rare in hotels and are to be commended for your outstanding service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carli Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 818 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We chose to stay at the Mantra One due to its super convenient location, a few minutes' walk from Salamanca Market and other attractions.
Our studio apartment was not luxurious, but spacious and clean, aside from a few minor stains on the couch. These were not off putting, however, even for me (I am very picky about cleanliness). The bed was comfortable and the bedding good quality and spotless.
Most importantly for us, the apartment, located at the rear of the building, was quiet to the point of being absolutely silent.
The reception and cleaning staff were all lovely, gave us a friendly smile and were at pains to be helpful.
We were charged extra for wifi, which worked perfectly, but we thought the charge was a bit steep.
We did not encounter any of the maintenance issues mentioned in other reviews.
We would stay here again, mainly for the location, quietness and relatively inexpensive rates (except for wifi).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road on our recent trip to Hobart.

The location of the apartments was great and we were able to easily explore hobart city on foot. We found our room to be spacious (the living area was enormous!) and comfortable. After a small hiccup on checking in (our room wasn't ready), the reception staff swiftly located us to a different room which was clean and despite being on the first floor, was very quiet.

Recommend booking parking when you book your room as all parking in the area is limited and/or metered and the Manta car park books out.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank carmarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Most of the previous reviews are spot on. This property is in a great location, close to Constitution Dock, the city and Salamanca Place. It is a converted telephone/telegraph exchange, hence the layout of the rooms which are large (we stayed in a one bedroom executive suite), but unimaginative. We were disappointed that it was so tired given its potential. For instance, the couches in the lounge area were really a disgrace - badly stained and sagging - and the mattress on the bed needed replacing. However, the The kitchenette and bathroom were good. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrow050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mantra is in a great location, close to Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the shopping centre is about a 10 minute or so walk away. Our room was a good size but it appears the whole establishment needs a bit of love and attention. The rubbish bin, which was under the sink in a cupboard, was actually holding up a shelf - which came crashing down when my husband put something in the bin. He reported it and it was fixed the next day - pretty good considering it was Easter. Staff are lovely, and very happy to chat about what is going on in the area and give you some suggestions, one being the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery which was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Sandy Bay Road for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophisticant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed at many mantra within Australia but this one was not one I would stay at again. Great location and spacious room but poorly equipped for self contained apartment and biggest negative no wifi unless purchased ! Few tried to purchased but xpensive and not a user friendly site. We were there purely to go to Mona and do some local attractions . Mona worth the visit but pick a different stay

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!! ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After reading some negative reviews we were a little hesitant to stay here. Late night check in ran very smoothly and when we entered apartment 406 we were pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and tidy and very little traffic noise. We had a 3 day stay and were very comfortable, great location with a nice stroll through the park to Salamanca and equally as close to the city shopping.
We have already re-booked for our Xmas vacation
The staff were exceptional, friendly and really helpful. It was Meagan's great attitude and personality that sold the place to me!
For the $$'s you pay it is good value. Have most certainly stayed in far worse and been charged a lot more money in Hobart over the years (we a regular visitors to that wonderful city)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlossAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $115 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the heritage and culture of Tasmania's capital from one of Hobart's most charming hotels, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Located just minutes from the CBD, Salamanca Market, and world-famous Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), Mantra One Sandy Bay Road hotel offers comfort and convenience at a great price. Our spacious Studio, One Bedroom Executive and One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments offer internet access, Foxtel, air-conditioning and kitchens. Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars are a stroll away from Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Discover Tasmania's best food and wine at Salamanca, Battery Point, Sandy Bay and Hobart's CBD. *Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arrange after hours check in). **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $20 per night but MUST be pre-booked in advance with the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing