We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but others are better value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but others are better value!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We payed for an executive suite, one bedroom, on arrival were given a studio apartment, the infamous room 505. We questioned our room as view was horrid and were told that they were sorry and had put us in the wrong room - only a cynical person would believe this was not really an error. For $200 a night in Hobart I would hope the room may be serviced daily as many other hotels in Hobart CBD are for this price, even the bin being emptied would have been nice, as it is an apartment and there is food waste. Of course they would do it but for an extra $25. Most other hotels have free wi fi now but not the Mantra, that was another added extra.
On a brighter note our room was large, clean and quiet and Rosemary on reception was the most delightful and helpful person we met whilst in Hobart, her cheerful manner was certainly a positive for the 'average' hotel experience.
The location was exceptional we could easily walk to the Wharfe, ferry, Salamanca place, Battery point and the city amongst other sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandDan1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor - we really do appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback!

I am sorry for the confusion on arrival, regrettably we had checked you into a room that was allocated for an alternative arrival, one with the same surname and only a difference in one letter in your first name! I hope this goes some way in explaining my confusion when you were questioning the size of the room with me and I was trying to explain that you hadn't booked an Executive Apartment - the fog cleared on speaking with Rosemary and as you pointed out she was quick to go upstairs to help you into your correct room.

Thank you again,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    283
    129
    45
    34
See reviews for
120
301
39
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra with our 9 week old baby in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was massive, clean and well appointed. The location is simply awesome, so close to Salamanca markets, cafe's and restaurants. The only drawback is that they don't use doona covers on the beds (the doona is kind of sandwiched between two sheets) which means you end up having to make the be each day, but this is a small price to pay for all the other positives!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When you travel you really need a comfortable bed at the end of your day so you can sleep well.
At the Mantra One they changed our rooms and gave us doonas to put on the mattress but even that couldn't improve the old tired mattress. PLEASE INVEST IN NEW MODERN MATTRESSES!
The decore was OK and the room was quiet. Great locality. I would not stay there again until they have new beds! The staff were VERY pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie29H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road!

I am glad you enjoyed the decor and quiteness of the room, location in the city, and our service we were able to provide.

Regarding your sleep quality, I am sorry you found the matresses uncomfortable. I have looked into the age of the matresses, and they are between 3-4 years old, made by AH Beard who are manufacturers of commerical quality matresses and supply a range of accommodation options across the country. Mattress quality is so subjective, and certainly not to discount your experience here, as I know from first hand experience how a good nights sleep can make or break a holiday! I am glad our staff were able to offer a number of different options to help alieviate the issue though.

Warm regards,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I would like to say about the Mantra Hotel at Sandy Bay Hobart, that the one bedroom very spacious apartment was absolutely a delight to stay in, everything was spotless, the facilities were good, your own laundry, dishwasher, beautiful bed and good sheets, two televisions and very central, would stay there again in a flash, self contained, which we like, it is unserviced, but you can pay extra to have it serviced, we didn't bother, as the four nights we stayed there we, just did our own thing and made our bed. Very quiet, must have double glazing as you couldn't here any other units in the block. We stayed down there early September, so a reduced price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The recommendation to stay at Mantra came from my sister and brother-in-law. They stayed in April this year. We had a lovely corner room overlooking the park. Very roomy, clean and comfortable.

We really enjoyed the location, walking distance to restaurants through the park to Salamanca Rd. If you wish to get supplies and eat-in(kitchenette was handy) I would recommend "Salamanca Fresh" or there is a great Deli/Butcher in Montpelier Retreat Rd. (Lots of Tassie Produce).Retro Cafe is on the cnr of Salamanca Rd and Montpelier Retreat Rd we had lunch here twice. Great food and lovely staff.

We stayed 3nights and did not find traffic noise a problem. Slept pretty well after touring all day. Staff at the Hotel were friendly and helpful. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The room was huge for 2 people, really high ceilings. Our room was right on the corner of the building, looking over the park, but there was a lot of traffic noise of cars accelerating up the hill. If you are a light sleeper then this hotel might not be for you. Something often common with serviced apartments is the smell of cooking from a previous guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road - we do appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback for other travellers!

I am glad you appreciated our service, and enjoyed our 'larger-than-usual' apartments we have on offer - it is a great location in the city to base yourself while exploring all Hobart has to offer.

Thank you also for your travel tip regarding those corner rooms - often one of our more commonly requested room types due to their outlook over the park, however you do experience more traffic noise as a trade off!

All the best, and safe travels,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel room guide said all rooms have views over the bay, the park, the CBD etc, but forgot to say that room 505 looked out on to a telecommunications tower and roofs.
It's not the first time we have had a "last minute" booking and found they allocate the worst rooms. Yes, we want a nice break at a reasonable price, but when the places are nearly empty and you are still shoved up the back room, it becomes very disappointing. We once stayed at the beach and the place was practically deserted but we were given a room at the back overlooking the rubbish bins. We are travellers who like to go away often for short breaks so when we have undesirable experiences we will never choose those places again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank LizHobartCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. We do appreciate your feedback - and thought I'd take the time to respond to your comments!

Being a central CBD property, our rooms do have quite a variety of views, as you have pointed out, some overlooking the park and towards the water, and others overlooking the city and surrounding areas. The room you had booked is the cheapest of our three room types and far from being 'nearly empty', we ran at 95% occupancy for the month of October (including the three nights you were here).

As far as allocating the 'worst' of our rooms - we have three Studio apartments in total, and in this case we allocated one that has recently been refurbished with new soft furnishings and electrical goods, and the only one that is on the top floor of the hotel - thereby giving you outlooks over the Conservatorium of Music (the 'telecommunications tower' you mention) and the historic suburb of Battery Point ('roofs').

Thank you for commenting on your experience at the beach property - I'm unsure how it relates to this review, so you'll excuse me if I don't comment on it in this forum.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that in this case the property did not meet your expectations. Please, do feel free to contact me directly at the Hotel if you do visit Hobart again, as I would like the opportunity to look after you with a good rate and a room more suited to your requirements. Furthermore, if we do have the opportunity to see you again, I do encourage you (and any others reading this) to contact us at Reception during your stay if you have any concerns whatsoever - invariably we are able to fix the vast majority of problems - not so after the horse has bolted so to speak!

All the best,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 47 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing