We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in July in a second floor apartment. The room was very well appointed, clean and neat. There are 2 flat screen TV's but only one with foxtel ( the tv in the bedroom has only free to air channels). The apartment was well furnished with a comfortable couch, a well fitted (small) kitchen and a nice comfortable bed with reasonably firm pillows. The staff were very helpfull and organised storage for our bags for the time after we checked out to when the airport bus picked us up. One downside to the room was the amount of outside street/road noise that can be heard in the room. The apartment is on an busy road and you hear every car and truck that goes past.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road!

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms, and the facilities within them. Being an inner-city property, the majority of our rooms do look out onto Sandy Bay Road or Davey Street, and can be subject to some noise. If you do have the opportunity to return to Hobart at any stage, please do feel free to make contact directly with us at the Hotel and we would be more than happy to allocate a room that will have less street noise.

Thank you again for your review.


Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    273
    124
    45
    34
See reviews for
115
294
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spent 5 nights at the Mantra recently while attending a Hobart workshop. The apartment surpassed my expectations in size and comfort. I had a very large 1 bedroom apartment .
Clean, comfortable and excellent location . Easy access to Salamanca place. I thought it
was good value.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. No view, but I had no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road!

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciated the room facilities and location in Hobart. We are very lucky to be so well situated within walking distance to the CBD and Salamanca/Waterfront areas.

I am also glad we were able to allocate you a quite room, and thank you for making other travellers aware of the 'trade off' when needing a quite room!

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart if you have the opportunity!

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights here when we went down to Hobart for a wedding in February 2012. The place has a very good location next to a park and close to the CBD walking distance. Car parking has to be prearranged with them as limited availability and cramp down there. It is not clear that the hotel has 2 different lifts so beware of which lift you take otherwise you wont find your room. Took us over 1 hours to sort out very late at night that we were on the wrong lift.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the good self service apartments with different levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosePablin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road!

Thank you for your comments regarding the Hotel. We are very lucky to be in such a central location, and I appreciate you leaving your 'travel tip' for other guests in regards to our car parking.

I am sorry you had difficutly accessing your room on arrival - I will re-iterate with my front desk staff the importance of ensuring that clear and accurate information is printed on the envelopes that contain your keys and hotel information as usually there are very clear instructions on here with regards to which lift to utilise.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart if you have the opportunity!

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mantra for the third time for a period of four nights at the end of June/start of July. We booked this accomodation without even looking at other properties (as we did last time). The location of the hotel is excellent, the cleanliness fo the rooms is also. We have no need for parking so can't comment on that. Traffic noise has never been an issue for us either. The split system in the room is more than capable of maintaining a comfortable temperature.

One small issue this trip was the washing machine in the room not working. We were not offered any kind of alternative or resolution to the machine not working and were left short of clean clothes. The lack of interst shown by the staff member was disappointing.

Overall, the location, view, room standard and ammenaties are very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road! I am glad we were able to welcome you back to Hobart again.

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms and their facilities. I am sorry to hear you had difficulty getting a good solution for your dryer, and would welcome you contacting me directly at the Hotel so I can debrief the staff member involved. I hope it was a case of simple misunderstanding as we have had issues with machines before where we were able to offer a reasonable solution other than leaving you with dirty clothes!

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart if you have the opportunity!

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great location and large apartment, however being on the second floor, the traffic noise from the trucks going up the hill was unbearable at night. This coupled with the king size bed (two singles pushed togather) made an uncomfortable ridge in the middle of the bed. We were to moved to the fifth floor overlooking the park, much quieter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road!

I am glad we were able to move you to a quiter room, and that you enjoyed a good nights sleep on your second night. We do get regular requests for specific room types based on what guests read online, but I would encourage anyone who are making these requests to contact as directly to discuss as while one room may be quiter than another, it may have a restricted view, or incorrect bedding configuration etc.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart if you have the opportunity!

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in a one bd apartment. It was HUGE!!! Everything was in good working order and there are free chocolates available at reception. Bonus points!

The gentlemen at reception was extra helpful, showing us alternative car park areas proactively. He is a gem! This property is just a stone throw away from the Salamanca Place. The walk across the park is just lovely. Salamanca Market was quite an experience. Must have the Ham & Cheese crepe. Delicious!

Balls & Chain restaurant is walking distance, too. Great salad bar and good value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleYHLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the property, and made the most of your weekend in Hobart. We really enjoy working here, and I'm glad we were able to get your stay off to a great start! A warning though - those chocolates do become highly addictive...!

Warm regards,


Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient location to Salamanca, Sullivan's Cove, City and the MONA ferry. Very friendly service, huge rooms with good self-catering facilities. Easy to get away to Huon Trail, Port Arthur, Richmond and other tours. Parking can be restricted so book in, although on weekends there is free street parking just around the corner. Double glazing means very quiet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank petcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road.

I am glad you made the most of your time in Hobart, and you are right, we are blessed with a fantastic location in the city.

Thank you also for your tips regarding parking - onsite parking is available for $10 per day, but is very limited so we do encourage pre-booking of this facility at the time of reservation. Alternatively - there is abundant on street parking which is only metered during the day, Monday to Friday and free of a weekend.

Thank you again, and our best regards,


Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing