We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Value.”

Vanny's Cafe and Takeaway
Ranked #343 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Cambodian
Restaurant details
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Value.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Been here a fair few times now. Thought I should write a review as this place deserves it. Really nice service, no wait, extras packed on, and cheap. What else is there to really say about this absolute gem of an experience in the heart of the city. Service with a smile :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Roh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, healthy food. Good value for money.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have been eating at Vanny's many times over the years. I find the quality is consistently good. The food is freshly cooked. I'm a vegetarian and I really enjoy his Tofu and stir fry. Fresh salad with peanut sauce is available with every meal. Prices are good. Watch out for the chilli! (optional)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EternityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cambodian that you can afford.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Mr Vanny has had his two storey restaurant for 14 years now. We have been coming from Melbourne for 10 years. Every time we go to Hobart we must eat at Vanny's! Dated and a little quicky but very clean and cosy. Mr Vanny has a Bain marie full of food ready to serve, so no waiting. We first ate at Vanny's as a couple for a few years then with our toddler daughter and just this week with our boy. Opening at 5.15pm was great as our young children eat early. Our little boy got to sit in a vintage highchair and gobbled up his noodles whilst the rest of us ate like kings. It is our family tradition to never miss a meal. BYO at this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatianaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I often so in for lunch at Vannys.Always good food. Decor is pretty basic but that's not the reason you'd visit. Good for vegetarians.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I sometimes get take-away from Vanny's and it is fantastic. Vanny is really nice and the food is great. I love the chicken curry which comes with an amazing peanut sauce and some salad and chilli sauce if you want. Oh and I should mention it comes with fried rice, steamed rice or fried noodles. The price is great and overall I absolutely love this place. I'm surprised it's not more popular. Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanny's Cafe and Takeaway also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Vanny's Cafe and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing