We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in the 80's”

The Point Revolving Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 627 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seventeen floors above the River Derwent, The Point Revolving restaurant at Wrest Point radiates 'special occasion.' When the doors open and the view unfolds, you'll understand why The Point has been a backdrop of memorable dining for over 40 years. This new refurbished Hobart restaurant is committed to people, produce and place. Our French-inspired menu weaves some of Tasmania's finest ingredients into a dining experience punctuated with theatre and flair, like the sound of Crepe Suzettes cooked at your table by your waiter. We love to put on a show at Wrest Point Tasmania, and this extends to dining. What's more, beyond the table entertainment, rolling views of Hobart's city, Tasman Bridge and Mount Wellington are priceless. If you want to celebrate, spoil those close and mark a new memory, let us set you a table at the top.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I moved to Taroona recently and wanted somewhere special to take our family visiting from Victoria. The Point Revolving restaurant is in need of modernising: decor and cuisine. Our meals were enjoyable yet overpriced but not the contemporary dining experience we were expecting. Service was very good, views excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeeandAndyTaroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to comment. The Point Revolving certainly has much tradition associated with it and I am dissapointed you feel the menu is over-priced. Thankyou for your kind comments about the fantastic service and great views. Kind regards Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arranged a quick dinner prior to comedy show at the Casio. Staff were extremely helpful in getting us through in an hour without a hint of compromise to the quality of the food or the service. We would normally have spent several hours having a relaxed meal but were very impressed of our treatment and service. Well done and we made the show which was a classic as well.

Thank Usa4july2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hope you enjoyed the show and we look forward to your next, much longer visit..the summer is especially great arriving as the sun is going down ( with all the varied colours of the sky adding to the views) and leaving with the night lights of Hobart twinkling in the distance. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Kind regards Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

was expensive but worth the extra cost ,romantic as one could get ,staff so classy friendly ,helpful ,one was made to feel royal ,food was the greatest if your wanting to impress someone special take them here

Thank ross4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for your generous comments - Our customers deserve to be treated like royalty - Hopefully we will impress next time you visit!!
Kind regards Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I would have to rate it up with the Best, From the moment the elevator door opened we were welcomed and directed to our table
Service was prompt but not rushed complete break up of the choices were fully explained by the wait staff, the wine selected was decanted at the table and tasted, another great Red from Tasmania.At the table we enjoyed a selection of Fish and Meat meals all were exceptional, finishing off with crepes cooked at the table, followed by special hand made chocolates and coffee
We looking forward to returning, Service and Food were excellent

Thank B M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

I’m very glad you took the opportunity to visit our restaurant, the staff at The Point work very hard to ensure every guest making the journey up the tower is greeted and treated to the finest service standards possible.
Kent Sullivan, the Chef de Cuisine, takes care in selecting the finest Tasmanian produce available so that each morsel becomes a lasting memory. It’s great to hear these choices came together in such an enjoyable experience for you.
Your great feedback is certainly well received and I will be sure to pass it on – we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Hobart.
Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant by definition is on the 18th floor and revolves once each 60 minutes. With proper planning you could have lunch and complete 6 revolutions then have dinner. Back to mothers day, this involved a set menu great service and magnificent 360 degree views of Hobart. For a special occasion or just because, this is one dining experience not to be missed. Priced accordingly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Mother’s Day is a great occasion to spoil that important person in your life and, as you experienced The Point is a very special place to ensure a happy result. We are proud of the spectacular scenery from the top of the Wrest Point Tower and can guarantee, according to the time of day and the weather, a different “show” each visit.
Thank you for your positive observations of The Point, we hope to see again, when next you visit.
Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Revolving Restaurant also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Point Revolving Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing