We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day Treat”

The Point Revolving Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 616 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seventeen floors above the River Derwent, The Point Revolving restaurant at Wrest Point radiates 'special occasion.' When the doors open and the view unfolds, you'll understand why The Point has been a backdrop of memorable dining for over 40 years. This new refurbished Hobart restaurant is committed to people, produce and place. Our French inspired menu weaves some of Tasmania's finest ingredients into a dining experience punctuated with theatre and flair. Like the sound of Crepe Suzette cooked at your table with flair by our waiter staff? We love to put on a show at Wrest Point Tasmania, and this extends to dining. What's more, beyond the table entertainment, rolling views of Hobart's city, Tasman Bridge and Mount Wellington are priceless. If you want to celebrate, spoil those close and mark a new memory, let us set you a table at the top.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant by definition is on the 18th floor and revolves once each 60 minutes. With proper planning you could have lunch and complete 6 revolutions then have dinner. Back to mothers day, this involved a set menu great service and magnificent 360 degree views of Hobart. For a special occasion or just because, this is one dining experience not to be missed. Priced accordingly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Mother’s Day is a great occasion to spoil that important person in your life and, as you experienced The Point is a very special place to ensure a happy result. We are proud of the spectacular scenery from the top of the Wrest Point Tower and can guarantee, according to the time of day and the weather, a different “show” each visit.
Thank you for your positive observations of The Point, we hope to see again, when next you visit.
Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 291 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fabulous food! Amazing views! High quality staff! We found this restaurant to be a wonderful reminder of what fine dining used to be! You're treated like royalty with nothing left to chance. I'll be finding every excuse to return - often!

Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Your positive feedback on Trip Advisor only serves to encourage our staff to do even better!! Due to the revolving flooring, the views from the top of the Wrest Point tower are amazing and ever changing over the dining experience and truly a great enhancement to a wonderful meal.
Our chefs work extremely hard to explore new techniques and flavours to match Tasmania’s excellent local produce – we hope you return very soon to try the new Winter menu!
Thank you for your comments
Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I went here for a friends birthday celebration. I can't fault anything, the food, the service, the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prahalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We take pride in making celebrations unforgettable experiences in our restaurant. Great feedback such as this has resulted in the Point Revolving Restaurant recently earning a 2013 Certificate of Excellence.
We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited the Point Restaurant for Mother's Day. It was a set menu at $105 per person. There was champagne on arrival followed by a tomato jelly which was delicious. I had braised pork belly for entree which was wonderful. Full of flavour with crackling that was amazing. Another person in our party had the consomme which was served just delightfully. The bowl was placed on the table with all the extra parts of the dish already in it. The consomme was then served at the table and poured into the soup bowl. Main course was grilled eye fillet. We all wanted it cooked differently and the chef got it right with each steak. It was topped with a truffle butter which gave the dish a lovely flavour. Gravy was superb and the right amount and the mash was the best I have ever had. It was smooth, creamy and a rich delightful flavour. Dessert was a chocolate fondant and when the spoon broke through the muffin, the chocolate oozed out obligingly. Others in the party had equally delightful desserts. We were then offered tea and coffee and this was accompanied by chocolates served with frothing dry ice and the chocolates had an ice cream filling.

The service was splendid and not rushed at all so we could enjoy the lunch over a few hours which was nice. The ambiance was very pleasant with sun steaming in the large windows and spectacular views in every direction as the restaurant revolved. If you want to spoil yourself, make a date with the Point. It really is quite decadent and well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CazziD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at The Point Revolving Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thankyou for your comments, it’s great to have such wonderful feedback and we will be sure to share it with the service and the kitchen teams. Our talented chefs have an incredible passion for food which really shines through and we are pleased your Mothers Day was such a memorable experience.
The revolving aspect of The Point certainly enhances the ever changing scenery which is a great highlight of any visit to the top of the Tower, from the views of Mount Wellington to the sweeping vistas of the Derwent River. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have dined here several times. It is always a wonderful meal over a bottle of champagne. The food, service and atmosphere is all top notch, although they could do with a new menu as it has not changed in a very long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ghop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Revolving Restaurant also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Point Revolving Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing