We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe near Salamanca Markets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retro Cafe

Retro Cafe
Ranked #116 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little cafe near Salamanca Markets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this little cafe while looking for breakfast one morning. Great museli, coffee and cooked breakfast. the staff were very friendly and efficient. This little gem is situated near the Salamanca Markets and great for people watching. We ended up going back several times for coffee and cake!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisav29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    102
    31
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky corner cafe with a little bit more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast after a coffee at Daci Daci - and was able to order a half serve brekky. I egg on buttered rye toast with a side of bacon - there was a little drizzle of pesto and some sliced spring onion. Delicious and a nice coffee to finish off.
Enjoyed looking out the door to watch a 6yo girl having a crack at some busking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great service, the staff are really friendly and efficient. The coffee is really good. I recommend the poached eggs with aioli, or the house-made veggie burgers. It's really nice sitting outside on a saturday morning with the markets around you - if you can get a table, that is!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I were told to take a seat and they would get our order. The waiter took ages to come despite there only being a couple of other patrons. We ordered lunch and I asked for some tea which never came. He tried to charge us for the tea and when we said it didn't come he didn't even apologize!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buttons1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Salamanca's signature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

In prime position on Salamanca Place, the Retro Cafe' is the ideal place for breakfast or brunch before you hit the market, which is right on the cafe's doorstep. The breakfasts are very good and hearty, and prices are comparable with those of similar establishments in other Australian capitals. As the name suggests, the interior is fitted out with nostalgia from bygone days, but if it's Saturday and the market is open, then you cannot but sit outside and enjoy the theatre of life as you sip on a strong, full-bodied cup of coffee.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BerlitzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retro Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Retro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing