We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed.”
Review of Mures Upper Deck

Mures Upper Deck
Ranked #39 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jill & George Mure opened Tasmania's first licensed seafood restaurant, Mures Fish House, in 1973 in Hobart. When they struggled to source quality, fresh, local seafood, George went fishing. More than 40 years on, now owned by Will & Jude Mure, Mures remains a favourite of locals and visitors alike, located in Hobart's working fishing port at Victoria Dock. Mures' philosophy of fresh Australian seafood, sourced from sustainably managed fisheries still rings true from the ocean to the plate. With an international reputation for Tasmania's world class seafood, Upper Deck is the ultimate seafood experience in Hobart.Enjoy expansive dockside views and a la carte dishes, often changing daily with the freshest catch, featuring the finest seafood and very best local produce. Perfectly complement your meal with their award-winning exclusively Tasmanian wine list. Reservations are recommended. Upper Deck specialises in functions from private dining for small groups to large corporate events and are experienced in tailoring an event to suit your needs.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to like this restaurant, especially after reading some of the unkind reviews, and while I was very happy with the service staff, the lovely views from our table, and the wine list, I found the food to be mediocre at best.
My partner had eaten here previously about 6 years ago and had raved about the experience and we had to go there as he wanted me to enjoy the great food.
We both had the chowder that he recalled was so tasty, however, after waiting 45 minutes for it to arrive at our table, the soup was lukewarm and had a slight film over the top which indicated that it had been sitting for some time before being served to us. The seafood in the chowder had been over cooked and was a little tough, the flavours were just ok.
I had mussels in a cider broth for my main meal and while the mussels themselves were nicely cooked, not tough, the broth had no flavour at all.
My partner's crumbed fish was also over cooked.
I would like to say that all of the staff were very attentive and knowledgable.
We were both disappointed after looking forward to our experience here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LSC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    410
    249
    158
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jan Juc, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The seafood and service at Mures Upper Deck were superb. We arrived without a booking and were taken to a table overlooking the water immediately. Our dinner was on the "smallish" side for the price but certainly not too small to enjoy. A great selection of drinks available. Will definitely go back when we are next in Hobart.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rod3228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very disappointing very small choice of fish on the menu”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

So disappointing as I was looking forward to a choice of fresh fish. The manageress didn't want to accept us as walk ins, we should not have argued to be seated and served. The food & choice of fish was SO disappointing. Dinner was a total disaster

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Owner at Mures Upper Deck, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Evelynne G,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Mures.

You say the choice of fish was disappointing. Our current menu has the following seafood:

Entrée.
Chowder, 5 oyster dishes, sashimi, Crab, Smoked salmon, Scallops, Prawns, squid, sardines, Octopus, White bait, and Mussels.

Main.
Shell fish Broth, Salmon, Ocean Trout, Blue Eye, Mussels, Market Fish (changing), Pink Ling and our seafood Platter.

This is a para phrased menu but I’m sure most people would recognise that this a good selection of seafood.

We of course have three non seafood meat dishes and two vegetarian dishes along with a magnificent desserts menu with eight choices as well.

Again we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your evening but we do hope you return soon to truly enjoy our wonderful fresh seafood.

Kind Regards

Will & Jude Mure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Hobart”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great place,great athmosfere.Geat fish,salads and ice cream.
We had a great time in Hobart.Thank GOD my daughter took us to Mures.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canario16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Succulent Meals”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Brilliant, mouth watering, finger licking seafood. Never cease to amaze me, as fresh as it can get :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nesiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mures Upper Deck also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mures Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing