We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check this one out”

Machine Laundry Cafe
Ranked #13 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
south island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“check this one out”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

great little spot in the corner of the square - lots of locals as well as travellers here and no surprise as lovely atmosphere, great menu and good coffee. can sit inside or out and service was friendly and quick. also great idea to have half portions as an option. really good find. thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    272
    63
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very good coffee”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The coffee was so good here; the barista saw me go "Whoa!" when I tasted it and he smiled at me. I bet he gets that a lot! I had brekky here and do not regret my choice of meal - spinach and caremelised onion pancakes. You get three thick, delicious pancakes stuffed with ingredients chopped rustic-style. I couldn't fit in the third pancake and one of the boys put it in a foil bag for me to eat later. Amazingly delicious. I had bacon on the side with this, too, which added that saltiness. Yum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelgaBrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast venue”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A friend and I decided to check out Machine after it was recommended by a friend. Cute venue with a fully functioning laundry on site. We got in early before the market crowds on a Saturday. The food was delicious and the coffee was good. I would highly recommend this if you're looking for a breakfast/brunch venue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Five star breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The lovely and I live in Launceston (tas), travel to Hobart often and visit the Machine Laundry Cafe for breakie every second or third visit. Don't get me wrong, we love this cafe but enjoy a change every now and then! Had breakie there on the long weekend just gone and once again it was excellent. Eggs Benedict for both of us with the house made beans as an extra for me. Perfect eggs, heaps of bacon, good coffee and the beans are spot on! YES, given it's popularity there is sometimes a short wait for a table but it is well worth the wait!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim191072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky cafe, fantastic brekkie”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great little gem in Hobart with quirky (& functioning) laundry decor. Attentive & quick service and good coffee. Best part of all is the FOOD. I was restrained & went for the eggs benedict (yum), but my husband went all out for the chocolate banana pancakes with peanut butter crumble and salted caramel sauce (to die for). A must visit if you are in Hobart.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mezza1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machine Laundry Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Machine Laundry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing