We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #243 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We opted to eat here as it was close to our hotel and was pleasantly surprised.
The waitress was very helpful in assisting us order our meal. Te starter which we shared was delicious and the steak I had was also delicious (I don't usually order steak) my husband had chicken and ribs which he thoroughly enjoyed. We ended up having a dessert which though ok lacked imagination in presentation.
All in all,I would say 8/10 and I would definitely return for another meal

Helpful?
Thank texWerribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    78
    69
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Great night out for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent service & yummy food. Great night out for the family or a group. Excellent deal at the moment on Mondays/Tuesdays with one adult paying more than $20 for their main, one child eats free. Have been twice & will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAzhure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting decor, dreadful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food was awful. Deep fried everything including curly chips that seemed to accompany every dish. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best steak ever was what one of my fellow diners said and they are known to be a bit fussy. Service was great even though it was totally booked

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wehavearrived
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was hard to decide whether to rate as "average" or "very good" - the staff were great, very friendly, the atmosphere was nice. But the food was definitely average. It LOOKS beautiful, nicely presented, but the taste... well. The tortellini was clearly just pre-made from a jar and heated in a microwave. The vegetables were cold and dry. The hog-tail fries were the best bit. The desserts, on the other hand, were amazing!
It was a lovely night out, but the food was a big let down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TassieDevil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing