We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced fish and chips”
Review of Fish Frenzy

Fish Frenzy
Ranked #35 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the freshest seafood, fish 'n' chips & hot chowder on Hobart's historic waterfront Fish Frenzy is famous for its delicious, daily fresh fish and chips, grilled seafood, salads and amazing hot seafood chowder. Come in and discover what the locals take for granted. The fast and friendly service is complemented by the incredible waterfront location of the restaurant, overlooking the docks and working port. Every visit to Hobart should include a stop at Fish Frenzy! Dine in or take away. Savour Australia - Finalist - Awards for Excellence 2016
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Over priced fish and chips”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

On a visit to Hobart we tried Mures and it was good. Nice grilled fish, salad and chips for $18.00. The next night we thought we would try Fish Frenzy as it was full and had a nice location. WOW! What a difference! The fish was overcooked in batter. A small of salad is $10 and grilled fish with salad with no chips was $30. The service was terrible.

I had a Fish Frenzy $17.50 and got a cone of two small pieces of battered fried fish, two calamari rings and three scallops with a kilo of chips.

If you want well priced fish and chips which is cooked well and is well priced give this place a miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    509
    191
    93
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“terriffic fish and fun-atmosphere”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Australia is generally disappointing from a culinary point of view.
mediochre restaurants who think they are better than they are and charge accordingly.
But Fish Frenzy is different. There are no pretensions here at what is, on the face of it , a stand in line fish and chip shop.
You have to stand in a short queue to place your order but the service is fast and friendly. The food is brought to your table though.The value is great and the fish exquisite. Unsurprisingly this place is always busy which gives it a distinct buzz.
I haven't had such good fish in a long time so we dined here two nights running! What a gem. Best value in Australia in my experience of eights weeks touring.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Divers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tried this great little restaurant after a local tip!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our accommodation host recommended this great little restaurant.

Situated right on the waterfront at Constitution Dock, the ambience was very appealing!

We found a table outside and the staff advised us how to order (order and pay at the counter and then meals are brought out).

We had the 'Fish Frenzy' which was like a seafood basket (a selection of seafood and chips), wrapped in paper the presentation added to the nautical atmosphere!

Remarkably the seagulls seemed trained not to bother patrons!

For a casual dinner with a great atmosphere Fish Frenzy is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a really busy restaurant right on the waterfront. Very casual and busy. The staff were really helpful and cleared the table as soon as we ate which was great. Food was wonderful and fresh. Would recommend for families as you can eat outside and the kids can play.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible service, very ordinary food and poor value for money”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I went for a fish&chips to this place. They serve different types of it. The served us the wrong order. But thinking of ourselves as easy-going ppl, we decided to have it and not make a make a big deal out of it; afterall fish&chips is just fish&chips, and they were the same price anyway. We ate only the fish&chips, when the waitress approached us telling us loudly that we shouldn't have eaten the next table's food. We mentioned that they actually brought us the wrong order. But the waitress, who later turned out to be the manager, said that it was our fault for accepting the food. We said that we were happy to pay for the extra salad and the wrong food, so she could bring us a new bill. But she didn't want to do that, neither did she accept to stop blaming us and end the silly argument. At the end she asked us to leave after we finished. We thought that was the end of it. But the lady manager did not want to let go. After we ate only the finsh&chips she came with our original bill and told us how wrong we were. My husband again asked for a new bill but the lady manager did not want to end the argument talking loudly and arguing with us.
Usually we go to restaurants and we've never complaint to anyone ever! -either for cold food, terrible taste, burnt or things such as that because we just need a nice evening out... But this lady at Frenzy ruined it for us- and for other patrons who were staring at my husband and the lady manager's silly argument (which could have been easily avoided if she did not play a blame game and smiled about it)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fti2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Frenzy also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Fish Frenzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing