We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Poor Service"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Ranked #70 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Poor Service"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Tonight I went to your restaurant to celebrate my mums birthday with a group of friends. We were booked for 8pm unfortunately people were coming in after us and were being served before us. I can't complain about the food, but to be served at 10pm is just not on. You guys lost out, if we were served earlier we would have stayed for coffee and deserts. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND YOUR RESTAURANT FOR LARGE GROUPS.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    54
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Waited half an hour to place our order, then waited one hour for our pasta main - no explanation, no apology! Very disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Tucked away next to Mee Wah in Sandy Bay is this great little authentic Italian restaurant.. some of the best pasta we had, unpretentious service, affordable and definately worth a second visit for us next time we are up that way.. Top Place

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adamg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just arrived in the area, lots of Asian type take aways and eat in , but amongst them this lovely
Italian restaurant good food very friendly, good service, worth a visit if not staying locally

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Italian Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Was in the mood for a real Italian meal and heard this was the place to go but we found it not Italian enough with the flavours in the food. Both the lamb shank gnocchi and veal scallopini were quite bland altho they did look good. We came away feeling that the chef was probably not italian like the wait staff (who were friendly and proficient).Will try it again with a couple of pasta dishes before we write it off completely. Didn't stay for desserts so can't comment. Nice layout and atmosphere in the restaurant .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InigoJones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing