We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, service a bit patchy, can be expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Skies Cafe, Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Blue Skies Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good location, service a bit patchy, can be expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have been here before for work (though that was quite a while ago), this time I visited with my partner. Restaurant was busy but a number of tables were unoccupied. There seemed to be a lot of staff around, but the service was a bit patchy. Long time between seating, orders taken and meal delivered. Had to hunt out someone to take a 2nd drink's order.

I had a large chicken caeser salad which I quite enjoyed. Partner had a sirloin and needed to order a side of veg...total for what was an okay steak...$40. Dessert was expensive and certainly not value for money.

Certainly has a lot of potential...has the location, needs to improve service and re-do a lot of the menu...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waterside delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Always a winner. Great menu choices, fantastic location. One of the great places to lunch on the waterfront. One I always take visitors to for a waterfront experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kickatinalong
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Take a seat, and wait...and wait....and wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Dined here for lunch with fellow members of my employer. Waited 15 mins for drinks waiter to take order. Waited another 15 mins for food waiter to take order.
Then waited 45 minutes for 2 x entree's of bread and dips to arrive !
A further 45 minutes later, the mains arrived.
Didn't bother ordering desert, as i had to be home the same day !

Staff in kitchen were loud, laughing and calling each other to the kitchen for no reason. Rest of the staff were in a valium daze just aimlessly wandering.
Seafood pasta was nice, but with only 4 prawns, steaks were generous servings, but nothing special.

Big white plate restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had about 5 different wait staff servicing our table, one of whom was very rude. Given there were so many people serving us, there was a lot of confusion. The menu was unimaginative and almost tacky, with all our meals pretty average. I didnt eat most of mine. The resteraunt itself is pretty poorly laid out, noisy and it was freezing!

Have been there before and sat out the back and that was nice, but generally, don't bother, there are so many other nice resteraunts in Hobart.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Wow what an experience...great postion overlooking the quay near Salamanca,
GREAT local produce and good chioces from the menu to choose from.
Prompt attention from the waiters without them being in your space constantly.
Excellent array of local wines/beverages to select with your meal.
Meal arrived in good time...not too long and the presentation was excellent.
I will certainly be coming back again and again.........

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prozac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Skies Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing