We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night”

Ball and Chain Grill
Ranked #31 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Hobart.

A very friendly greeting and seated promptly. It is quite a large restaurant and seats at least 150 comfortably however this large number did not affect service in any way. The staff were all friendly and obliging.

The menu was extensive as well as the wine list. While we chose a surf and turf steak somewhere along the line there was a glitch and the "surf" component was omitted. When we mentioned this we were provided with three fresh oysters and there was no charge.

The food was enjoyable and we would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    479
    172
    74
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was expecting a better overall dining experience judging by the other reviews. As someone who enjoys good food and loves to cook, I am a harsh critic. We were disappointed. We started with the tasting plate which was a sampling of the different appetizers. Its presentation was lackluster and messy and certainly would not entice us to try the individual appetizers in the future. My husband ordered an entree size portion of the wallaby sausage which was rather good and an entree size (Jamaican?) chicken dish which was smothered in a yogurt sauce that he had specifically requested to be on the side. He was unable to eat the chicken. My grilled salmon with Hollandaise sauce was very good and cooked nicely. All dishes come with rather lumpy, lukewarm mashed potato. A fairly mediocre salad bar is the vegetable choice. The ambience is pleasant in this lovely historic Salamanca building, and the wait staff were pleasant but not very professional. Certainly not a gourmet dining experience, mediocre pub food at best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Steaks cooked to perfection. Great sizes to choose from. Salad bar that's is included is fantastic. Great service and atmosphere. Nicely located along Salamanca Place. Reasonably priced too. Well recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuttyJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is more of a family type bistro with a fairly good atmosphere. Service is wonderful and prompt. I have been here two times and both times I had the scotch fillet char grilled steak with mash. If you like your steak nice and grilled this is the place for you. The steak was also perfectly cooked on the inside. There is a all you can eat self serve salad bar which compliments the meal. Overall if your looking for steak in Hobart this is the joint!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey60_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Ball and Chain is the best steak restaurant in Hobart. We go there every time we travel to Hobart. This time I ordered the beef satay kebab - delicious. In the past I have had fillet steak cooked to perfection and their pork ribs multiple times. Every visit I have been part of a large group of friends and we have had a ball. Staff are very helpful, the food delicious and the service faultless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillimur3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball and Chain Grill also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Ball and Chain Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing