We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$220
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$193
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$163
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$101
$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$398
$376
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
183
30
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
30
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach afternoonturret roombattery pointfresh muffinsshort walksalamanca placebay windowowners were friendlycentral heatingda angelosandy bayspa bathderwent riversalamanca marketshampden roadantique furnituresmall kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The views were great, and everything in the room (including the bathroom) was carefully planned.

However, we found the owners a little bit cold. Our impression was that they thought we did not fit the bill of how they would like their customers to be (middleage or over I presume, and definately of the upper middleclass variety). Ironically, we are both academics from upperclass backgrounds, but do not feel compelled to make sure the rest of the world knows this - showing up in hiking gear and windblown hair may have been our downfall. It is quite possible that we misconstrued the reasons for their behaviour, but it is hard to avoid the conclusion that the owners were somewhat prejudiced. For instance, upon our departure, one of them hardly said a word and rather seemed to give us a "look" (and made me feel very foolish in my nervous efforts to thank him for the lovely room, etc.). Paranoia or not, the cold impression we got ruined our last day in Hobart (and a bit of the stay, too, as we tiptoed around in the fear of drawing any attention on ourselves). It would be great if everybody had enough class not to care about class.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hilima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at this property. The room was well appointed with quality furnishings and fittings and was very clean and comfortable. Staying in the middle of winter, the heated towel rails in the bathroom were a real winner, as was the central heating making the room warn and cosy.

Occasionally some properties sold as “heritage” are often poorly executed with cheap and nasty furnishings and fittings. Grand Vue was not one of these. We found the hosts polite and helpful, but not intrusive which suited us fine.

Location wise the hotel was excellent, our room was on the first floor and offered a view of the water towards Sandy Bay. A block from the hotel were a range of café’s and restaurants, and another block , down a few steps took us to Salamanca Place (Saturday produce and craft market) and on to the Hobart waterfront. Parking was on the quiet street with a supplied a parking permit, we left our car and explored on foot.

We have visited Hobart many times, and love the maritime history of the town, and the fact that in the centre of a state capital (albeit small), the fishing boats, cruise ships and ice breakers share the waterfront and the average person can still walk the jetties and take advantage of the great range of cafés (The Timeless Way in the IXL building is one of our favorites and worth a visit), restaurants and seafood boats.

Hobart is a great place to visit if you are looking for a relaxing time away from the crowds and traffic. There is plenty to do both in Hobart and surrounds, especially if you enjoy the outdoors and history along with a great range of food.

On our next visit we will definitely stay at Grand Vue.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tralagef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We loved the location, the luxury of the accommodation, the generous breakfast and the magnificent views from our water view room but the elegant private hotel lacked character, was very reserved to the point of almost unfriendliness, unfortunately just like our host. The room was luxurious with quality oozing from the furnishings, but stains on the thousand thread Egyptian cotton sheets! My darling "Hyacinth" was not impressed. I had to convince her how clean they were, and that I would top and tail the bottom sheet so that she would not be offended. We nevertheless were able to enjoy the positives of this location, Jackman and McRoss Bakery, Da Angelo Restaurant and the Shipwrights Arms. Delightful meals and wonderful friendly service in each establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Gorgeous furniture, beautiful finishings (think plush curtains, beautiful bedding), wonderfully heated for those of us from a warmer climate, stunning bathroom, then add in a beautiful view, touches like beautiful soaps, plunger coffee, a perfect setting for two by the window and lovely hosts (although they were minding the place for the real owners!) it was just amazing. I love a pricey hotel and was a bit skeptical about this place for some reason, but it was overwhelmingly impressive.

There's no room service as such, and breakky was toast (bread fresh from local bakery) delivered to your room the evening prior, but that suited us fine.

Nice and quiet, away from the hussle of Salamanca place but only a short stroll away, I'd reccommend this to anyone who wants a nice, relaxing room from which to explore hobart.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Located in a stylish, picturesque part of Hobart, this charming and beautifully appointed Private Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Hobart region. Within easy walking distance of Salamanca Place and a number of lovely eateries, it is run by a very charming couple who provide perfect unobrtusive service. The room (we stayed in the water view room) was spacious, beautifully appointed/decorated with a stylish, modern ensuite. The kitchenette was also well appointed, with a well stocked fridge (with fresh, tasty continental breakfast provisions) and a sink/kettle/toaster etc.. Overall, I highly recommend this lovely hotel and don't think the Hotel's website does it justice. It is definitely worth staying in!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews