We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A stunning grand guest house with spectacular views fm room 5. Spotlessly clean & extremely comfortable with complimentary home made muffins at the end of the day. Thank you to the delightful hosts Annette & John for making our stay a memorable one! Can highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LyndyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Certainly up there with the nicest of places I've stayed in. Lovely views from spa suite 4 and an attentive host in John. Beautiful decor in the room, lovely bathroom, comfy bed and excellent tea. The daily muffins much appreciated. Great location in picturesque Battery Point with many lovely cafés and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Spa suite 4 - wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocobutter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Annette and John provide a lovely atmosphere at their Grand Vue Private Hotel. The location is walking distant to several restaurants and convenient to many amenities. The room we had was upgraded to a water view ...very spacious and comfortable complete with small kitchenette. Continental breakfast is available if desired. The hosts went out of their way to assist us and we appreciated their attention and kindness.Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grande Vue Private Hotel for 2 days in August this year and were really pleased with the accomodation. We stayed in room 7 and had a wonderful view of the harbo, very beautiful in the day and night, as the scenery turns to a blanket of city lights.

The hotel is in battery point and incredibly convenient as you can walk to everything. We strolled down to Salamanca markets on Saturday and at night went for a lovely walk Salamanca place to eat dinner at one of the many restauraunts lining the street.

The hotel felt very safe and the rooms were quaint and comfortable and The Linen and bed were lovely. A thoughtful and much appreciated gesture from the owners, John and Annette were the muffins delivered to your door in the afternoon and as we discovered on our second night, if you're not there to receive them we came back to the motel, filled with the beautiful smell of freshly baked treats and entered into our room to find two muffins had been placed on the bench for us. How cute and thoughtful.

It's those extra touches that really make a stay special.

We headed to the midlands after our 2 nights to stay somewhere else and found that it was grossly under standard and payed them the money for the night called the Grande Vue to see if they had a room for the night and went back to stay there.

We love the Grande Vue and will be going there again next time were in Hobart for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismetandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Perfect location close to the Salamanca market. Good hosts, and clean room with a great view. The muffins were delicious. This place had great little personal touches is lollies by your bedside which made the place special.

Room Tip: Ask for water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 180Lucienne180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

July 11 2013. My husband & i arrived at The Grande Vue 10pm Thursday night for 3 nights. We were warmly welcomed
by Annette at the front door and found we had been upgraded. In our room were freshly baked choc slices ..yum and each night we were greeted with freshly baked muffins, such a lovely touch. Waking up the first morning to find breathtaking views of the Bay was more than i had imagined. The bed was so comfy and inviting. Its also just a few mins walk to cafes for breakfast. We were there for our Wedding Anniversary and SO glad we chose The Grande Vue. We will stay there again on our next trip to Tassie for sure. Loved it thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent 6 days at this hotel in Room 3 as recommended by previous writers. The view is sensational. We enjoyed being part of the Battery Point community for a short time, visiting the cafes within walking distance as well as taking the stairs down to Salamanca place each day.We walked everywhere from here. The bed is extremely comfortable, the room a good size and a small kitchenette space was useful. Good sized bathroom too. The hotel was quiet and discreet and suited us perfectly. There is a very pleasant sitting room downstairs that we didn't actually use because we were out and about. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZigZags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Address: 8 Mona St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $143 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Vue Private Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Vue Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing