We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Views and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Location, Views and Quiet”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our experience of Grand Vue was very good indeed.
Location: walk to Hampden Road for several great breakfast options. 10 min walk to Salamanca Place and the docks for dozens of eating options. 15 min to walk onto the City. Mona Street is relatively quiet and there was no traffic noise in the back rooms. Battery Point is the best accommodation location in Hobart. (And I grew up in Hobart).
The executive suites have delightful views of the river and the corner suite has a view of the mountain as well. Big rooms,well-appointed and well-equipped. Beautifully restored Edwardian (?) house.
Parking is on-street via a permit from the owners. They gave us quite a bit of help with dining options.
Grand Vue in our opinion offers excellent value for money. We visit Hobart annually and will now use it as our preferred accommodation option. And we liked the muffins.

Room Tip: Upstairs executive suites - the NW corner is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
148
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cradle Mountain. We arrived late due to our delayed flight which wasn't a problem. An easy 5min walk to Salamanca where we got a late dinner. The view from our room was amazing and very romantic. we had breakfast supplies in our room and they were happy to accomodate my gluten free requirements. The room was spacious and very clean.

Fantastic location and reasonable priced. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a water view - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel while tucked away in the back streets of Battery Point is still close enough to Salamanca Markets and the square is still a bit of a walk to the main shops of Hobart. The hotel is very clean, very quiet and has a view to die for HOWEVER the very stuck up snobby half dead man owner "John" leaves very little to write nice things about. He has about as much personality as an ice cube or pick depending on whether you meet his criteria. When we got there he showed us very quickly and very briefly some locations of where we are and how to get there etc etc unfortunately we missed a few pointers and my husband had to go and ask him the next day where the steps were again he replied " I showed you yesterday and marked it on the map I gave you" shame on us for being hot and tired and not paying attention. NOW be careful if you are there for a little romantic weekend because JOHN thinks its ok to tap softly on your door and if he doesn't hear you respond he just lets himself in.....1st time my husband caught him as he was just about to walk in and we were like whoa !!! 2nd time we had had a big day out on the water very hot and very tired we got back had a shower and (room 4. Executive water view room is so hot and stuffy) decided to have an afternoon snooze ...naked... We had the tv and a fan on and again JOHN tapped softly on the door to which we did not hear and did not respond to being as we were asleep and he lets himself in again.....my husband raced for the bathroom and I threw something on really quickly and asked him to please not do this again....to which he replied " I knocked" WHO CARES whilst the gesture of giving the guests a small cake is really very nice you cannot do this to guests and when we checked out he still didn't get it that you can't do this find another way to deliver your treats. And he would NOT APOLOGISE in any way shape or form his wife did but he was adamant to the end that he had done nothing wrong "I do this everyday " says he.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go elsewhere and their is no air con so the rooms are very hot and stuffy. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ellyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Grand Vue during our visit to Hobart. Everything about the hotel was beyond our expectations. The location was perfect. Battery Point is a beautiful location and there are nice places to eat close by. Salamanca Market is also a short walk away. The building itself is beautiful and tastefully appointed with quality features. Our room was amazing and the views were breathtaking. We also loved the added touch of the delicious hot muffins delivered to our room. I highly recommend this accommodation. I could not find a single fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Grand Vue Private Hotel in Hobart. The hotel has very well appointed rooms with stunning views and is only a pleasant 10 minute walk past pubs and cafes to Salamanca Market. There is an optional huge continental breakfast and evening delivery of muffins and the setting of this restored mansion in a quiet street makes for a more private and personal experience. The owners are very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have large floor to ceiling views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and just returned from a wonderful weekend in hobart where we stayed at the Grand Vue Private Hotel. The property is a beautiful mansion in the heart of Battery Point, a 10 minute walk to Salamanca Market. Our room was nothing short of amazing, both of us gasped audiably as we walked in and took in the view (room 4)! Room and bathroom were large and spotless, and the bed was comfortable. There is a little hideaway kitchenette, that had everything you would need for a weekend stay. The hosts are friendly and efficient and only there when you need something, which is the way we like it. I would not hesitate in recommending this place to others or staying there again next time we are in Hobart!

Room Tip: If you want an amazing view you can't go wrong with room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleannMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Hobart at the Grande Vue private hotel and feel as though we've returned from a weeks holiday. The property is in Battery Point which is a stunning location full of character and history so you get to see a different side of Hobart. The building itself is a wonderful grand building which is quiet, private and peaceful.

Our room was Room No 4 - which has the most magnificent views. The view hits you immediately as you walk in, it's not just of the water but wraps all the way around to Mount Wellington - stunning. The room itself was large and very comfortable with a small but modern and perfectly adaquate ensuite bathroom, and a kitchenette so you can make yourself some coffee and toast in the morning. The freshly made muffins that are delivered each evening are delicious and the smell emanates throughout the hotel making it cosy and homely.

The owners are extremely discreet and polite. Nothing is too much trouble and they certainly allow you privacy which sometimes doesn't happen in a smaller B&B type establishment. We know the hotel was full but we didn't see anyone else the whole weekend - that could have been something to do with our schedule rather than the others - but it was certainly quiet.

A short 10 minute walk to Salamanca place and the foreshore, this could not be a better location for a weekend stay. I highly recommend Grand Vue and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Property: Grand Vue Private Hotel
Address: 8 Mona St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Vue Private Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Vue Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing