We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! We were so glad to have stayed here and not in a larger hotel on a main road in the city centre. The 10-15 minute walk down to Salamanca Markets was delightful- its such a beautiful part of Hobart. The owners were very kind to upgrade us seeing as a better room was empty and the baked treats each day really made us feel at home. Cannot recommend this place enough; now that my tassie trip is over I can say its definitely the homeliest place we had the privilege of staying in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently spent a wonderful 4 days at the lovely Grand Vue Hotel. It is low key luxury, beautifully decorated and O so quiet. Our huge, spotless room had a gorgeous view over the bay and mountains. It is is an historic, quiet part of town, surrounded by gracious mansions. The breakfast was lovely and the owners could not do enough to help us out - I will go back again and again to this lovely hotel. Simply perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

It`s a pity, we spent only one night in this luxury guest house and had not enough time to enjoy nice, spacey room with fantastic view on the bay. Located in the quiet, villas quarter, with walking access to the harbour and Salamanca Place, The Grand View is perfect, although not cheap option for sightseeing Hobart. All the furnishings,bathroom arrangement, and huge, comfy bed are classy and tasteful. Leaving early morning, we haven`t check, how is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the beautiful Grande Vue Private Hotel. The location is fantastic, so close to the little shopping strip of Battery Point where there are lots of lovely eating places. It is also within walking distance to Salamanca and the harbour front activities. The return walk is a little taxing but not too bad.

The hosts are very accommodating and the rooms beautifully furnished. Our only gripe is that it is advertised on their website as having "individually controlled central heating". This is not the case. The central heating is on an automatic timer (we presume) and as a result only comes on during set times. This might not be when I am cold!! We feel that given the tariff (it isn't cheap), guests should have control over the heating so their stay isn't overshadowed by being cold during times when the heating is not on - such as during the day when one might be having a few lazy hours staying in and reading a book or similar. Hopefully this problem can be rectified as we would definitely return. (We have also stayed in some "Budget" accommodation and even they have individually controlled heating/cooling. Owners please take note.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good view of the Derwent as some of the rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Cannot fault our experience here. Hosts John and Annette were so welcoming and friendly. The room exceeded all of our expectations; particularly the incredible views! Photos don't do this hotel justice! We have already recommended to our family and friends! Location was perfect, and in a peaceful and gorgeous neighborhood. Looking forward to our next stay already!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Grand Vue is a gorgeous house, very well located in lovely Battery Point, with quietly pleasant owner/managers.
We occupied "water view 2" for two nights; a queen room with amazing views over the harbour and to Mt Wellington.
We didn't order breakfast (preferring to go out to Jackman and McRoss bakery just up the road) however we did appreciate the freshly baked cupcakes that appeared in the early evening, as well as the good quality provided coffee and teas.
A great neighbourhood to just stroll around in, taking photos of the houses and their flower gardens and the water views from almost every street.
We ate out at Fish Frenzy ("Fishies") which we'd highly recommend for fish and chips, oysters, calamari and scallops, and at Garagistes (also recommended, and I'll review it separately).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Clean, friendly and spotless.
Perfect hosts and very friendly

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Address: 8 Mona St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $145 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Vue Private Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Vue Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing