We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its about the vibe”
Review of The Pickled Frog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pickled Frog
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had 3 nights here and loved it. Crazy art, super friendly staff and a free trip up Mount Wellington. I thought that was good value for $26. It may not be for everyone but its fun, cheap, clean and the coffee is good. That's about all I want in a hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for The Pickled Frog
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 234 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Pickled Frog for a period of time and found the hostel to be have an excellent vibe. The staff are all real chipper, friendly and helpful. They do free tours up mount wellington, book tours for you and have the best flexibility with accommodation changes that i have come across.

The place feels really homely and the free wifi is a great feature! Too many places these days rip people off to access the internet.

They have foosball and a pool table, fresh coffee and little things like buy 6 nights get the 7th free are all things that make the place that little bit different from other strictly run, clinical vibe hostels.

They know how to run a good hostel!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomnom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights here and found it average, nothing particularly outstanding about this hostel. I guess it's alright if you're only going to be in Hobart for a short while. The rooms were rather small and cramped. It's a good thing we were out for most of the day – don't think I'd appreciate being in the room for long since there's barely any space to move around. The bathrooms were alright, not the cleanest obviously since it's shared by so many people.

But I liked the two receptionists I met on both mornings. They were incredibly friendly and helpful so kudos to them. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant friendly reception team, who gave out lots of information about Hobart on arrival. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was clean and spacious. Bathrooms were clean and never had to wait.
Great for anyone travelling alone, and travelling in groups. Free wifi is brill and pool table and computers available

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Tckm92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I can really recommend the place. I stayed four nights and also went on the free tours they offer. The staff was sincerely interested, friendly and helpful. They made me feel welcome. They were always up for a good laugh and I had the impression that the rest of their staff (such as cleaning) was treated well and fair.

The rooms could be a bit more spacious and have more light, but the bed was comfortable and the sheets looked and smelled fresh.

Also the common areas were quite nice and you can easily chat to other people and make plans together.

The location of the hostel is very nice, not too noisy but central.

Room Tip: I was in a four-bed dorm. I think the bigger dorms are ok - good value for money, but some of them a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for a couple nights at each end of my trip to Tasmania and had a wonderful time. The Pickled Frog was recommended to me by a friend who had travelled there a few months prior and she had only great things to say for it. I totally agree! This hostel is located just a few minutes outside the city centre and has a fun and quirky atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly and helped my friends and I get the most out of Hobart. It was clean, and although a couple couches could be replaced, it was very comfortable and felt like a well-loved and well-lived in home. The bar/reception area is a great spot for a cheap beer, cup of tea or just a swing in the hammock. The living room/lounge area is complete with a pool table, a TV with tons of DVDs, a reading nook and a fireplace. Baloo, the house dog, was also an adorable surprise. Although I was there in the off-season, the place felt full of life and I made some new friends! Definitely an amazing find in Hobart!

Room Tip: The corner room (12? 15?) near the women's washroom was noisy from the showers on the adjacent w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdrumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the pickled frog at the end of September for 4 nights in a twin share private room. The location is good, only takes about 15min to walk to the main places in hobart CBD. The staff were very nice and welcoming. The room I stayed in, to be blunt was pretty crap, in regards to the mattress I've slept on more comfortable rocks when camping, for a private room it's pretty standard to have somewhere to hang your clothes and all they had were 3 nails in the wall and only 1 coat hanger.. No chair( but not too fussed over that) but come on! Simple refinishing is a necessity with this place. the staff provided us with a heater for the room which was great, showers were good, unfortunately the staff decided to paint te common room at night which stunk out the whole building, our room reaked of paint.. No one needs that when trying to sleep. I'm sure the staff didnt know how bad that idea was but during the day when you could leave the doors open for better ventilation seemed the obviouse choice, over all there isn't enough bang for the buck. Has potential but not there yet

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweatywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $24 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pickled Frog 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing