We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this apartment”
Review of Maison Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Del Mar
Ranked #22 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very happy with this apartment”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just back from 4 nights in the Waterview apartment that we shared with a couple of friends and it was the perfect place with two big queen bedrooms. It was no problem to share the bathroom. Ted was a gracious host and we loved the interesting decor with bold colours and art work by Ted's wife, as well as the amazing view and nice cottage garden. As people have mentioned, we didn't go further than the deli right across the road for most of our meals and supplies. There is a bus stop very close with buses to the city area every 15 minutes and we took this option for the Salamanca Market visit even though we had a car- $2.50 each for a whole day of bus travel (seniors) Nearby Prossers Fish restaurant was very very nice. Thank you for a great stay, we certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in the Waterview apartment for 4 nights and loved it. Historic building so close to the heart of Hobart. Sandy Bay area is close to the restaurant scene in Battery Point, and the Salamanca Markets, Wrest Point Casino (enjoyed a lunch there), and easy drive to Mt Wellington. Apartment had heating and both the queen size bedrooms had electrics blankets as well as heaters. Bed linen was superb, and beds were very comfortable. Rooms are a great size and as two couples we had no problems moving around our apartment. Modern kitchen, but would have enjoyed coffee granules for the coffee machine when we arrived on that first cold night from the airport. Perhaps a nice touch to be considered. Bathroom is modern and clean, and has an overhead heater light... so no freezing once out from under the hot water. Took a window of opportunity to sit on the balcony and enjoy a drink with a view of the Derwent River through the tree tops. Did the quick 2 minute walk down the side of the building to the beach along the river....even enjoyed a champagne at sunset on the beach. Loved the deli just across the road...so much choice. Although on busy Sandy Bay Road, with the double glazing on the front windows we didn't hear a thing once inside. Picked some beautiful daffodils and jonquils from the back garden to put on the dining table.....a very romantic feel to the apartment. We really enjoyed our visit and thank you to Ted who greeted us with all the information we needed for our stay. Coming in and out of the wrought iron gates and the large wooden front door, let just imagine we actually owned a little slice of Tassie history, if only for 4 short days.

Room Tip: Both queen bedroom as huge, with luxurious linen, electric blankets and plenty of pillows and cushio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EllyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for the Dark Mofo weekend, and enjoyed everything this apartment had to offer. This property had two bedrooms, one for us (MUM and DAD) and the 2nd for the 4 kids. The bathroom was spacious with a huge bath and shower and the kitchen had everything you needed for the weekend. Heating was fine, it was very cold outside. Close to HObart CBD, 10 min drive, 3 min to Sandy Bay shops and approx 5 to Battery Point.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a senational location - Sandy Bay (Hobart), on the water, just perfect! Very spacious for our family of 5 - even provided a car park! Highly recommended. The short walk to the water front and stroll to nearby restaurant was pleasurable. Also if in season the grapefruit picked from the tree in the garden at Maison Del Mar was outstanding (thank-you Ted!). Kitchen appliances were top shelf & we loved the bath tub! The garden apartment was definitely for us.

Room Tip: No tip required - just secure a booking! We had a car and found the accommadation for 5 (3 kids und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in our waterview apartment for 7 nights in October 2012. My husband,2 boys (15 and 12) and I arrived at the apartment in the early afternoon to find all the heating had been put on for us so it was lovely and warm inside (quite cool out).

Everything about the apartment was perfect and very spacious. The bedrooms are very roomy and unlike the usual sterile apartments we stay in this one is homely and comfortable with everything you could need and more. There is tourist information, board games, books, cd's even wine and drinks to purchase if you need them. The kitchen is very well equipped too. Probably the only slight downside would be the bathroom was very small but functional so not really a problem.

The location is great being only a short drive into the City and Sandy Bay which has 2 large supermarkets and everything else you could need. The other great surprise was the amazing shop across the road which has to be seen to be believed. It is open from 7.30 to 7.30 and apart from having a great delicatessen, it also sells fruit and veg, grocery items, fresh bread, flowers, bakery items, just about everything you need plus great coffee.

This is a great apartment, very quiet and relaxing to come back to after a day sightseeing and enjoying this awesome city. We weren't all on top of each other either. The boys could go into their room and we could watch something in the lounge without hearing each other.

I would recommend this apartment to anyone. Best holiday we've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed over at the accommodation for one night, it was absolutely wonderful! Bedroom, lounge area,kitchen & bathroom very spacious. Accommodation were very clean, house was warm, kitchen very well-equipped. Good location, only 5 mins drive away from Hobart CBD, provided undercover car-park. Would definately go back and stay when i go back to Hobart next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The reviewers who went before me are correct - this is a fabulous place to stay. Each room had a queen size (very comfortable) bed with electric blankets. The owner brought out a single fold out bed for my adult daughter. I think it was a king single and just as comfortable as a normal bed.
Check out what is in the kitchen before you go buying supplies - there are quite a few essentials provided. Including local wines you can buy from above the fridge. The Lipscombe Larder over the road should be a tourist destination. It is full of the most wonderful selection of local products and pre-prepared meals. The beach at the end of the lane is a bonus - absolutely glorious views. I will be coming back again as soon as I can

Room Tip: If you can't get the water view room then the garden one is lovely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.9 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
2.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Last Villa
The Last Villa
#26 of 53 in Hobart
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woolmers Apartments
Woolmers Apartments
#15 of 48 in Hobart
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 429
Motel 429
#21 of 48 in Hobart
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Del Mar

Property: Maison Del Mar
Address: 544 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well appointed 2 bedroom self contained apartments in a historic waterfront mansion. Located in one of Hobart's most desirable residential addresses. Apartments have a balcony and are tastefully decorated and furnished, with every thing you could need for a comfortable and private self catering holiday. There is also a private courtyard, access to Nutgrove Beach, public transport close by and an excellent delicatessen / grocery store opposite. Location is 3 km from centre of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Del Mar Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing