We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ample room, good location, good parking”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Dining Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area another view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lounge Dining Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area another view
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerben D
Molina, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ample room, good location, good parking”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Sandy Bay Chalet for 4 nights this past February (2015). The main room, bedroom, and bathroom were spacious and well appointed. We were able to park right outside the "chalet," which allowed for easy loading and unloading. Those without a car might find the location less convenient even though it is not too far from the main road that follows the Sandy Bay shoreline. Hence, you will not find restaurants within easy walking distance. The place's chief limitation was access to an electrical outlet for our laptops but we found a long extension cord in one of the drawers. Ashi, our main contact there, was helpful and arranged for us to stay and extra couple of nights so that we would not have to move to another location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and helpfulness
Liked least: Need more accessible electrical outlets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
Dear G

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay four nights with us and we were glad that we were able to organise the extra nights to stay with us and not have to move again.
Sandy Bay Chalet is within a short walking distance to Lower Sandy Bay Village but it is always more helpful to have a car when staying with us, although we have had guests in the past who have come and not wanted to have a car and use local taxis.

It is a shame that you did not talk to us about electrical contact points as we have many in the chalet for the guests to use and they do not always see it. We have now set up a area that was there when you stayed with us that you could have also put your laptop on.
But it was lovely for us to see you using the dining table as you did your computer work and have your drinks.

We look forward to having you both back to stay with us when you next come over from the US

Kind regards
Ashi and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Dear H,M and Clancy,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property.
It is a shame that you were not able to manage to get the wifi going as it was available on the property and we pointed it out to you on check in as to how to connect to it. We look forward to welcoming you all back when you return to the beautiful city of Hobart.
Ashi and Micahel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a great place to stay with our pet dog.
Liked least: The noise of the fridge and the lack of hot water for showers.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Dear Q and K

It was a pleasure to have you all stay and be in a position that we could immediately help you out. Thank you for leaving the property in good condition and your dog was just gorgeous and so well behaved.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart when you next come and so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Hobart.
Take care, Ashi and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeanette...
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful surprise! Simply stunning accommodation. My hosts Ashi & Michael made both myself and my pet schnoodle very welcome. Having stayed in many "pet friendly" places through-out Australia, Sandy Bay Chalet would have to be the cleanest and best appointed I have ever stayed in. Congratulations on beautifully appointed accommodation.
Jen & Meika.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Dear J and baby Mieka,
It was a pleasure to have you both for two days and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had time to catch up with family when visiting. We look forward to you both returning for some more J and M time out in the beautiful city of Hobart. Take care of yourselves and we are thinking of you both. Ashi and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Australia
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enclosed garden and the four poster bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2015
Dear N, R and baby Bella,

What a delight to have you stay in our chalet and I am so glad your pick up at the airport that we suggested went so well for you all to make a smooth transition to our chalet for your new beginnings in Hobart.
It was lovely to meet you all and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Chalet. Bella was just too gorgeous and so well behaved and thank you for leaving the chalet in such a wonderful condition when you left. We look forward to keeping in touch while you live and settle down in Hobart and if there is anything that we can help you with, then please ask. Take care, Ashi and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kwixstix
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and beautifully appointed appartment”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed 5 days in the sunny and welcoming apartment. Our hosts were friendly and always available but also respected our privacy. The courtyard area was a lovely bonus and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. Another thoughtful touch was the Entertainment book provided for guests. Many thanks Ashi and Michael.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent living area and bedroom
Liked least: solar hot water needed time to warm up in the morning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Dear J and M
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed staying the large King size bed making your stay more like being away from home. The entertainment book has been a great success and we have two of them now for guests.
Kind regards, Ashi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog Friendly and Spotlessly Clean
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Dear D and A

It was an absolute pleasure to have you both and your very special best four legged friends. We believe that our special friends are part of our family and may want to travel with us. It has been our dream to have a luxury chalet both for man and his best friend and we have achieved this. I am so glad that Yuki loved her home made doggie treat. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next coming to Hobart.
Kind regards
Ashi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing