We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury for pets and their owners”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Dining Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area another view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lounge Dining Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area
Lounge Dining and Kitchen Area another view
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emilyfrom...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury for pets and their owners”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Sandy Bay Chalet was a lucky find as, given the time of year, there wasn't much at all in the way of pet friendly accommodation in Hobart for just two people. Ashi has literally thought of everything when setting up Sandy Bay Chalet... all the comforts of home and with the added bonus that dogs are also welcome makes it all the more homely.

The view of Mount Wellington was lovely, as was the sun drenched living room but the highlight for me was the oversized king bed - just bliss.

Dog beaches are a short distance away which is also a bonus. We also ate at Prossers in Sandy Bay - highly recommended for some good local/Tasmanian seafood. We will be back again next time we are in Tasmania.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The oversized king bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Dear E and T

It was an absolute pleasure to have you both and one of your beautiful dogs stay with us.
I am so glad that you enjoyed the luxury of our chalet and that it felt like home. The bed everyone tells me is just magnificent to sleep in with views of Mount Wellington not just from the bedroom but from the main living room as well.
We have been to Prossers that is a gourmet local restaurant and I am glad that you enjoyed it as well, as well as our wonderful dog beaches.
We look forward to welcoming you all back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury four poster bed!!
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Dear K and J
It was just wonderful having you all as guests and your four fur baby children were just heavenly, so quiet and well behaved. It has been my dream to have someone stay with chihuahuas as we are chihuahua mad. I am so glad that you enjoyed the chalet as that was another dream for me to provide top quality accommodation and luxury for both parents and doggie children. I wanted something for guests that I never found myself when travelling. You left the chalet in immaculate condition and we rarely have guests who are as clean and thoughtful as yourselves. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back one day for a longer stay. Take care, Ashi and Mike and Rockey and Lola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shearwater, Australia
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Dear valued guests
Thank you so much for visiting our Chalet and we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to Hobart. Weekends are precious so having the time away must be right and I am glad that we were able to provide that. Come back soon.
Ashi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen H
Orange, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved our stay at Sandy Bay Chalet. Comfortable luxury, spacious, and welcoming. Recommend direct booking with owners.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us for your holiday. How delightful to be told it is just perfect as that is what we look for when we travel. Please return for another great holiday to Sandy Bay Chalet.
Ashi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
Dear A and K,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you both stay at our Chalet. I am so glad that you enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of the chalet. My other guests have called it an "Oasis of Calm and Tranquility in the heart of the City". We were thrilled to be able to offer you a treatment of Reflexology/Reiki and your partner some Reflexology. These are one of the additional benefits of staying at the Chalet. We look forward to welcoming you both back for a longer stay and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Ashi and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Port Sorell
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Dear D and V
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and your dog. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the chalet and the comforts that we provide for both our human and doggie guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back some day to the Chalet.
Kind regards, Ashi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
blue13127
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Restful, quiet, comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I stayed at this chalet for 5 wonderful nights. We were very impressed with the spaciousness, comfort and outdoor area. Ashi was welcoming to all of our family who visited constantly throughout our stay .... due to the spaciousness of the chalet our baby granddaughter was able to sleep here during the day without fuss. This is one of the most comfortable and homely places we have stayed. The location was perfect for us and to top it off it was oh so quiet. Ashi was extremely welcoming upon our arrival .... even to bringing over her very precious wine glasses for our use once she realized that my parents and daughter had also flown over from NZ to visit our daughter, her partner and baby for Christmas ... thank you so very much, it was appreciated, and also, thank you for leaving us to our own devices and putting up with the vehicles coming and going constantly! We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: spaciousness
Liked least: no laundary
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Dear L and G,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your husband staying with us and what a special trip to come and see your grand daughter. You were wonderful guests and it was lovely for us to be able to provide a large Chalet where your entire family can come and go and that you can entertain and just chill out. Many guests have done exactly this when they come and their extended family come and visit and entertain in the chalet and gardens. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back some day. take care, AShi and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing