We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than ordinary”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #47 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Less than ordinary”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small, no fridge or television and unable to access free wifi. On street parking is a nightmare and the noise from backpackers is unbearable. What else can you expect for $65 a night in the CBD

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizjustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, All of our private rooms do have a fridge in the room and our en suite rooms have a TV.
We have just updated our WiFi network so that guests can now connect in all rooms as well as in the common areas.
Being right in the heart of the city can make street parking a challenge. We do have Hobart's largest car park across the street and it is open from 7am - 10pm. With the loading zones and meters becoming free parking after 6pm street parking is easier after this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    51
    30
    36
See reviews for
14
40
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We're a couple in our early 30s who are well traveled throughout europe, america and australia. We stayed a couple of nights here in March. Having never visited Hobart before, it was a great location to be able to easily walk to all the attractions we wanted to see, plus nice to have a drink before heading out on a Saturday night! Basic accommodation and rooms but perfect for what we were after. Would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you enjoyed Hobart and staying with us at The Brunswick Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon and helping you explore more of Hobart & Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for two nights but was well impressed by the central location, great friendly staff and simple accomodation. Impressed by the professionalism of staff especially considering we were paying only $65 a night! Also, very helpful and informative when it came to info about Hobart. Highly recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underwaterpetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Is what you pay for. We knew we would have paid more so can't really complain too much. I didn't expect the noise from the bar to be that loud even though there was a clause when we booked the hotel. Lucky we can sleep through noise but I do wish we bought out speakers to the laptop. The kitchen was a mess so I didn;t trust eating from it. The Wifi was very disappointing as it was advertised as free but we had no reception in the room so were told to go to the back of the hotel - still no service so it's a bit of a con saying free wifi.
We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were always out so didn''t bother us too much but is prob not somewhere you want to stay long term. Staff were very friendly and helpful though!

Room Tip: No lifts so one on the closest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiWi27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly trying to maintain the common kitchen and always request guest clean up after themselves.
We have just installed a new wifi system with a stronger signal so that guests are able to connect in their rooms and not just in the common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked a private room which had a double bed ad a single bed in a bunk form for only $65 a night. Stock standard bedrooms, no thrills but nothing to suggest at 30 bucks a night between two will leave you disappointed! Shared bathroom/toilet no problem whatsoever and a decent bar downstairs with good food, friendly staff and a healthy beer selection. Really easy walking distance to salamanca and easy to access public transport / taxi from the outside.

would stay here again and highly recommend! dont be put off by the cheap looking price assumming you're going to a dive! good work chaps.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for a night in the 6 bed mixed dorm. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are small but we were the only 3 people in the room so it was ok. The beds were comfortable. There are many bathrooms and toilets in the hallway (all unisex) but none of them were quite clean. The kitchen was huge but it was filthy so we chose to eat out only. There is a bar downstairs and the ambience was good but if you want to sleep early this is a problem. The hostel is located in the CBD so you are walking distance to almost everything.

If you are arriving in a car, there is no free car parking nearby. We arrived around 4pm but realized that the street parking is only free after 6pm. There is a car park nearby but it is expensive so I wouldn't recommend parking there.

Overall I would not recommend staying here for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed the beds.
We will see how we can maintain the kitchen in a better manner so that you would feel comfortable cooking and eating in there.
Parking is a little limited and the argyle st car park is directly across the road along with Woolworths. The first 1.5 hours are free and 4 hours is just $5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Those of you thinking that you are booking a room at a classy, rustic hotel should reconsider immediately. The location and the pub downstairs are about the only good things this place has going for it. The bathrooms (unisex!!) are disgusting and dirty, obviously not being cleaned regularly (clumps of hair on the floor, bandaid stuck to shower wall, shower tap handles falling off, dirty sinks...) The list goes on. Don't even get me started on the loud courtyward out the back, and the 11PM "curfew". There is noise all around, whether it be the rowdy boozers out the back with the music blaring, the pub downstairs, the ancient plumbing system, the creaky beds, or the drunk party-goers stomping stumbling up the stairs at 3am unaware that there are people trying to get rest. I have stayed in loads of backpackers around the world, but this is without a a doubt one of the worst. If it is a good night's sleep you are looking for, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have put in place procedures to ensure that the 11pm curfew in the common area is enforced as this was identified as an issue over the summer. Our bathrooms and showers are also now cleaned twice daily. We do have some old plumbing and that goes hand in hand with a venue as old as ours. It is something that we are constantly monitoring and trying to improve where we can.
Good to hear that you enjoyed the pub downstairs. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#35 of 48 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Welcome Stranger Hotel
Welcome Stranger Hotel
#10 of 28 in Hobart
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alabama Hotel Hobart
Alabama Hotel Hobart
#2 of 28 in Hobart
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 54 in Hobart
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing