We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix The Plumbing!”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Lismore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fix The Plumbing!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Three flights of stairs to a rather dingey room with creaky bunk beds (billed a "twin room"? huh?) but the absolute worst aspect was the state of bathrooms. No water pressure, taps falling off, dirty - masses of hair in bathtub over which one shower was situated . . . still there 24 hours later. We're used to staying at backpackers, and were not seeking 5-star accommodation for budget price but . . . never again. Yuck!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    52
    30
    36
See reviews for
14
42
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is good clean budget accommodation with friendly staff. It is right in town, easy walk to shops and down to the harbour side cafes, pubs and the city museum. Airport shuttle drops off there.

Room Tip: If you plan to hire a car later for a few days, it is an easy walk to local hire companies there in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Booked 4 nights online expecting hotel accommodation, but it is a BACKPACKERS! No problem, but got to double room and found tiny room with ensuite (WITH NO DOOR - anyone in bed was positioned to look straight in at loo!). Room was musty, noisy, the place was a labyrinth, there was no working smoke alarm in our room. Stayed one night, forfeited 2nd night payment & went to a nice motel instead - Martin Cash near Glenorchy. Would never stay at Brunswick Hotel again, would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

OK for a hostel overall, but could not sleep at all due to noisy little idiots in the outside area that we were assured closed at 11. it did not, and continued almost all night, great. Scolded by antique shower, this is not a hotel its a grubby,noisy backpackers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpiper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2011

expensive to stay as I booked as The Brunswick Hotel and it turns out to be THE TASSIE BACKPACKERS,
room is small, carpets dirty, no milk in the fridge, No toaster, very small bar fridge on the floor . Have to climb sets of stairs to get to the double bedroom with en-suite rooms. rude all round service. We have backpacked all over Australia an this is not even a half star rating ,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I must say I chose this venue after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. I was bitterly disappointed. The room smelled musty or mouldy and i woke up with a blocked nose each of the mornings I stayed there. After the first night I tried to find another place to stay despite the fact that I had prepaid for the second night. I couldn't find anywhere so I stayed another night.

I was in Hobart for a wedding and there wasn't anywhere to hang my dress so I had to drape it over the table.

There were no night lights next to the bed. The ensuite was miniscule and I think the source of the mouldy smell.

I wouldn't recommend this place.

The bar downstairs was pretty noisy as were the backpackers. I would take earplugs.

On the up side, the entrance and bar looked nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in transit
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at the backpackers part of this hotel. The location is very central to lots of shopping and restaurants, and only a short walk to Salamanca Place. The dorm room was clean, nice sheets, decent beds. The bathrooms however could use some upgrading. Couldn't lock the door on a toilet, and a tap flew off when I used the shower. Other than that, a decent communal area, which could use a bit of decorating/cleaning up.

There's free wifi, but it's very spotty, so don't rely on it. Staff is friendly and helpful and there's a nice bar downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#35 of 48 in Hobart
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#14 of 54 in Hobart
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waratah Hotel
The Waratah Hotel
#25 of 28 in Hobart
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alabama Hotel Hobart
Alabama Hotel Hobart
#2 of 28 in Hobart
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 54 in Hobart
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Stranger Hotel
Welcome Stranger Hotel
#13 of 28 in Hobart
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing