We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed in the ensuite double. Clean tidy and modern looking. Had a mini fridge and a flat screen tv was cool. Not a huge room but all the luxuries of a hotel without paying top dollar. Theres a very smart restaurant and bar. The hotel itself is very central. It was all good.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Myself and 3 friends stayed for 4 nights at the hostel in early march this year. We found the rooms to be spacious enough and to have all our needs laid out for us. The rooms are definitely good value and as a student was perfect for my budget. The food was really enjoyable even though we went for the cheaper dishes they still tasted good. The Lounge areas were spacious enough and the pub was really cool. Probably the best part though was its location, we found it to be really central which made it easy to get to anywhere we wanted. Finally the staff were great and always willing to help with planning and giving us directions. We really loved it here and will definitely be back if we ever cross the Tasman again.

Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

the room on the first floor is disgusting!
flys everywhere, we spent half a hour kill all the disgusting small flys after we arrive on the mid night .
the shared bathroom is really disgusting, seemed to be equipment in the 19th centrary.
the room we live is even not vetical! slicing to one side obviously!
small to death!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at a dorm in this hotel (also known as Tassie backpackers) and the room was fine. There is enough space between the beds and the beds are comfortable enough.

The common area is great too and it has free wifi. But the wifi only worked for 1 of the 2 days I spent here.

The bathrooms are very old and I had to try several showers before finding one that was ok. All the taps are loose and leaking. They really need work! They also need to be cleaned better/more often.

The restaurant downstairs serves good food, but is not aimed at backpackers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

With a new and recent renovation, the Brunswick hotel is a fabulous place to stay. Accommodation is clean and simple with a great location only 5 mins walk to Salamana. The real standout is the newly refurbed bar! It's extemely classy. With one of the best local chefs, Tasmanian food at it's best. A hotel with resturant quality food at great prices! We kept coming back, the food was so good. With a new refreshed approach, great staff and even better management, this place is a gem. It's only going to get better!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woloschin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed ay the Brunswick Hotel for 6 nights and I was upgraded from a double room to a double with an ensuite. The building was old but very clean, the bed was comfortable and warm in the middle of winter, the shower had plenty of hot water. One thing that was missing was a bedside lamp, but apart from that it was very comfortable and really cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w0rking_h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Having usually stayed in bigger hotels on work trips to Hobart (conventions at Grand Chancellor) I really enjoyed staying here with friends on a quick fun weekend to Hobart. In the interest of keeping things very cheap, we bought airfares on Tiger for $20 each and paid only a little bit more to stay at The Brunswick.
The hotel is great, the staff and manager (tall guy, Jono- I think) were very accommodating and friendly.
You get what you pay for- and this was our expectation. 5 star digs it is not, but it is a very comfortable place to stay with some great people. I couldn't recommend the place enough for backpacker travel in Hobart/Tasmania

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#36 of 47 in Hobart
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 55 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.5 mi away
The Waratah Hotel
The Waratah Hotel
#25 of 28 in Hobart
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#15 of 55 in Hobart
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing