We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located budget priced motel.... Keep it in mind”
Review of Mayfair on Cavell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayfair on Cavell
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Centrally located budget priced motel.... Keep it in mind”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have stayed twice now in the past two months, cool time of the year to visit hobart.... We had to use extra heater, found the heater in the bathroom no go, also in both rooms we have found power points no go. Electric blanket for single bed was in the cupboard ! Oh dear!
The decor is very dated but matches the main house, and yes there is carpet on the walls & in the cupboard !
Cleanest bathroom I have ever seen, credit to them, however short on towels both trips.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dell1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
53
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

As a single traveller spending most of my time in Hobart on day trips, Mayfair was the perfect place to stay. It was affordable, with decent sized rooms, beds and bathrooms, and had plenty of desk space and power points. I had my car with me so secure parking was a must, and Mayfair had a space for me right by my door. It offer’s in-room breakfast at reasonable prices and there are plenty of great café’s, restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The staff were absolutely fantastic! They were very helpful with travel advice and went the extra mile to ensure you made the most out of your stay. The location is very central if you have a car with Salamanca Market a 3-minute drive away. If you don’t have a car, get your hiking boots on because the hill it sits on is very steep. The rooms were clean and warm, with plenty of natural light. I didn’t notice any of the other issues the other reviewers brought up however I thought the Wifi was very overpriced. If you have a Telstra phone reception and Internet access was perfect so at the end of the day it wasn’t an issue for me and I will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: If you are driver, room 9 was perfect. Right by the car-park entrance with plenty of space at your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The owners of this delightful hotel were generous to provide two rooms for our running team from the Peace Run, an international Torch relay running around the world. We could not have been happier with our accommodations, the perfect base for our two days in Hobart!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prachar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a find this was although getting into the rear park was interesting. This place was a real gem and the appartments were very roomy and well kept. The place was good value overall with beautiful views of the bay and Mt Wellington. You could do you laundry easily with the coin operated machines. There was a convience store, pub and great pizza place close by so you could eat in or go out for a cheep and nice meal. The place was close to the city and was it was easy to get out of the city from the hotel. I would certainly recommend this for any family or couple to stay a few days or so.

Room Tip: a few stairs at the back to the appartments, you can by food in the shops only 5-10 mins away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Simply Divine, Had the pleasure of My son and I staying there. Was impressed with Our introduction and welcome. Just a truly wonderful place to stay. and my new hotel acommodition in Hobart for here on in. Gorgeous people and truly clean and wonderful. Do not listen to other negative stuff, but Hobart? we can appreaciate all that This wonderful Motel has
to offer. Just wonderful!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here again July 2012, and after an unwise decision to go with a "Secret 4 star Hotel' on the same trip it was a relief to come back to the good old Mayfair. It has everything we need for a quick trip to Hobart; very reasonable rates, parking, a nice clean bathroom with a proper bath and a very spacious & comfy room. Sure its hilariously outdated but without being shabby and feels a little like staying in your Nanna's best room. We often travel to Hobart and will be back to this place time & time again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Really needs updating. Carpet lined wardrobes and milk in an uncovered jug in fridge was off-putting. Neighbour started vehicle and had running for several minutes before driving away at 03:20 which woke me up then couldn't get back to sleep. Also there is a house opposite the driveway which had loud, drunken residents on both nights of our stay and we worried the car would be damaged.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetcheeks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 47 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 47 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#29 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Argyle Motor Lodge
Argyle Motor Lodge
#22 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair on Cavell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair on Cavell

Property: Mayfair on Cavell
Address: 17-19 Cavell St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayfair on Cavell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mayfair on Cavell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair On Cavell Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing