We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair on Cavell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair on Cavell
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Length of our stay: 4 days
Room: Myself and two others stayed in a standard room (not inside the house). They are clean, spacious motel-style rooms equipped with the necessities and comforts of home. If you're nostalgic like me you'll love the retro vibe, especially the carpeted walls....yes, I said carpeted walls people. I'm not sure if it was just specific to our room (no. 20) but the pipes of the two rooms on either side of us were so loud when someone was taking a shower. It was like waking up in a construction site every morning. Hope this isn't the case with all of the other rooms.
Location: If you have a car, not a problem. If you're on foot, get the information from reception about bus timetables -there is a stop close by to the hotel and you'll need it if you don't like walking up hills. Nice quiet suburban street...hardly any noise.
Staff: Incredibly helpful, very knowledgeable about the city and local area.
Housekeeping: Our room was straightened up every day and we had tea/coffee supplies replenished daily. An interesting point is that despite a notice in the bathroom about conserving water by not requesting new towels everyday housekeeping would still do so. We placed our towels neatly on the racks as instructed (so they wouldn't be replaced) yet every time we came back at the end of the day there were new towels...confusing and water wasting.
Highlight: The Italian restaurant a short walk away has delicious food.
Not so great: The smoking permitted just outside the rooms. The smoke blows straight under the doors into the rooms and with the 'carpeted everything' inside, the smell gets absorbed and hangs around for ages..when you have allergies or asthma like me, the coughing marathons begin.
Would i stay there again? Yes, but i think i'd prefer being inside the house, rather than in a standard room.

Room Tip: I didn't get to see them, but the apartments inside the main house would provide more privacy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldRacer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
51
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel was not as close to the city as I read it to be however only a short taxi ride away. I also found the price to be on the high side considering the other places i've stayed at whilst in Hobart. I normally stay elsewhere but they were booked out.

It was a lovely place to stay (I stayed in a spa suite) however I didn't appreciate the smokers bin outside my door to be full and not emptied the whole time I was there. I don't smoke so it obviously was from a previous guest and it was what I saw everytime I exited my room. There were no other rooms near mine nor could you use that area to access somewhere else, so others could not have used the bin.

The place is more of the antique nature but was very clean inside. The room itself was very spacious, will fantastic natural light and well decorated. The bed was SUPER COMFY and the pillows will guarantee you a great nights sleep. The heater didn't work too well, and although it was 'summer' when I was there, Hobart had their coldest day on record, so I needed it. If you have a big car you may also find parking a little more of a challenge than someone with a small car. All in all a nice, clean, safe place to stay, with friendly helpful staff to boot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

There are more standard motel rooms built along the sides of the original 19th Century house. We have never stayed in these, however we have in the 2 bedroom apartments in the house a number of times.

The are the antithesis of modern and streamlined accommodation; furnishings span 80 years r more,a with the odd occaional piece quite fine, however the majority odd bits of (to my sensibility) an ugly collection from the bad days of the 50's,60's and 70's.

That is the extent of the bad; the rooms are huge with high ceiliangs and views of the Derewent River. The self contained kitchen and dining area is ample for one's holiday needs, the location provides easy access to Hobart city, it is blissfully quiet, and scrupulously clean. Fantastic value for the overpriced Holiday Isle of Tasmania, and a place to which I shall return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The room we had was spacious and clean and DARK. It had all the basic things you get in a standard room, and is nothing special. Our room was on the ground floor, so we didn't have a view. The room decor was dark and red and retro.

If you don't have your own transport, I would NOT stay here. It is a short drive from the main restaurants and places of interest in the city.

This place was interesting to stay at, but we will stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a possible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaBazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This place won't be everyone's cup of tea, but it brought back a flood of memories of my own childhood 1970's holiday experience.
Very clean and well presented which made all the difference. Great views from the room we were in to the water below and comfortably fit all six of our family in their Derwent Room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

A real surprise. Certainly aging and a mixed decor; however, the rooms are as big as any in a comparable motel / hotel. Very clean, and daily maintenance is superb. TVs need replacing (some are stll CRT). No DVD facilities, still using videos. No international TV service. Wi Fi internet is NOT free (very expensive in fact) and very slow. So why such a high recommendation?

The staff are as fine a group of people you could find anywhere, as are the owners. There is reliable public transport outside the front door , with walking distance to Hobart (don't try it back...it's all up hill...get the bus....

This hotel is a really welcoming, clean and expansive place to stay...stress free. Shouldn't that be the main criteria for any accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erskine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay in HOBART. Clean, tidy, quite, home away from home, all the comforts of home. Rates very, very reasonable, old world charm, close to the Harbour, tour buses do pickups from here also. We stayed 3 nights, did not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair on Cavell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair on Cavell

Property: Mayfair on Cavell
Address: 17-19 Cavell St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayfair on Cavell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mayfair on Cavell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair On Cavell Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing