We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful.”
Review of Louisa's Walk

Louisa's Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Louisa's Walk is a piece of Strolling Theatre or Walking Play that takes you on a journey into the life of Louisa Ragan, an Irish convict, sent to Van Diemen's Land on a seven year sentence, in 1841, for stealing a loaf of bread. You walk with the actors as they tell Louisa's story. You will meet Louisa outside the famous Cascade Brewery building in South Hobart. You will walk through the beautiful Cascade Gardens along to the World Heritage listed Cascades Female Factory Historic Site where Louisa was imprisoned. Once you enter those locked gates, they are shut behind you and you experience life in this harsh prison. You may laugh and you may cry but you will remember Louisa's story!
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

No wonder Louisa's walk is the number one attraction in Hobart. What a fantastic way of imparting history. Ellen and Colin were great and kept everyone engaged from start to finish. Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank henriette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    57
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
213 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great historical walk”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The actors really managed to take you back in time - it was an amazing live theatre experience - highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very best tourist attraction”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This piece of strolling theatre took me into the heart of the plight of female convicts of early Australia. I am a 70 year old man and Louisa had me in tears several times. An awesome show. must be seen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“informative and professional”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is professional street theatre depicting "the life of Louisa" a convict woman deported for stealing a loaf of bread. The actors cleverly offer an insight into the resiliency of convict women and the hardships they endure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked Louisa's Walk for a surprise for my mum. I attended with the view she would like it & could get a nice afternoon walk out of it. Instead, we had an afternoon of wonderful theatre, some historical background & an emotional journey following the story of Louisa. It was a rich & enjoyable experience & all set in the beautiful Hobart surrounds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee6528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisa's Walk also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Louisa's Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing