We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engrossing”
Review of Louisa's Walk

Louisa's Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Louisa's Walk is a piece of Strolling Theatre or Walking Play that takes you on a journey into the life of Louisa Ragan, an Irish convict, sent to Van Diemen's Land on a seven year sentence, in 1841, for stealing a loaf of bread. You walk with the actors as they tell Louisa's story. You will meet Louisa outside the famous Cascade Brewery building in South Hobart. You will walk through the beautiful Cascade Gardens along to the World Heritage listed Cascades Female Factory Historic Site where Louisa was imprisoned. Once you enter those locked gates, they are shut behind you and you experience life in this harsh prison. You may laugh and you may cry but you will remember Louisa's story!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Engrossing”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on this walk because of the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We agree that it was well done, and the information was vital to getting anything out of the female factory itself. The site itself is more or less a ruin of empty enclosures, but by going on Louisa's Walk, we gained a good understanding of this aspect of Tasmanian history. Our group consisted of a senior, two adults and two teens, and all were interested by this performance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspenbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    57
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Louisa's walk nice way to experience history tour”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The tour was very informative, sometimes when on a tour it can get a bit monotone, but because they are the characters it makes it for a much more interested tour and history lesson

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank harris377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History Alive”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a brilliant and interesting way to discover some of our little known history. We all know that women were shipped to the colonies but we didnt know their stories. Thanks to the two brilliant actors of Louisa's Walk we now have a small insight into that ugly part of our history. Beautiful setting with a poignant story. Well done and thoroughly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Totally immerse yourself if convict life”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took my kids on this tour to learn about the plight of female convicts. It was great. The tour guides acting out various roles and we walked around the historic sites. Great tour and good value for money. My kids loved it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WayneLovesAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Making history come alive!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you ever weanted to experience what life must have been like for early settlers and convicts in Hobart Town - this is it. Wonderful performers with an empathy for storytelling at it's best. Poignant and true to life it is an experience that young and old will appreciate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisa's Walk also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Louisa's Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing