We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Stay”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed the Stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed at this Hotel July 2010. Went to Hobart with a friend stayed here for 3 nights.
We were both impressed with our room. We had everything we needed to self cater.
A laundry downstairs with reasonable prices. The mini bar I never use because they are usually expensive but here it was very reasonable and we used it. The rooms are very comfortable clean and modern, beds are great. good size flat screen on the wall. Also we enjoyed the table and chairs. The location is excellent just a walk to Salamanca Market and restaurants. A supermarket close by made everything complete. We did find it a bit noisy on one of our nights as a neighbour had small children . Would definitely stay again as the rates are also good value. We stayed at Launceston and Swansee and this was the best Hotel out of the three and the cheapest.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jamitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    284
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
146
293
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. Although the building looks a little tired from the outside it has recently been refurbished into a 4 star complex. Parking is convenient as is the location. From here you can walk to Salamanca area and the CBD of Hobart if you are inclined.
Apartment was clean and modern. A few little annoying things however. For an apartment designed to sleep 4 there were only two towel pegs to hang wet towels. A family staying with young kids would be forever picking them up from bedroom floors.
Door to the balcony was clearly not part of the refurb. Wrestling match to get it to open each time. Kitchen utensils were virtually non existent..
Although well stocked the fridge was booby trapped so that on arrival a vertically stacked glass bottle of beer leaped out and smashed over the kitchen floor.
Staff were not particulary welcoming on arrival or departure. There was no welcome or how was your stay.
Good points were the daily servicing of the apartment and that the in room mini bar prices were quite reasonable. Heating in the apartment was efficient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I didn't really know what to expect from this accommodation, and on first glance it looked great. but once I started moving around the room and was there for more time I noticed a few things which were not super. like there was a dirty spoon in the sink. and a tissue had been taken from the tissue box in the bathroom and then left there (I dont know it if was used or not, I didn't look that closely). Someone at some stage had written 'I *Heart* (something)' on the mirror and when the bathroom got steamy you could see it there.

These are not big deals, but still, you probably expect more.

So although aside from these little issues it was a fine stay, I wont stay again. There are so many other places which hopefully have a higher quality of cleanliness...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BELavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My sister and I recently stayed for a weekend after hiking the Overland Track
Clean and Comfy -would definitely stay again ;o)

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikitcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here for one night on a Friday night and thought it was incredible value. We paid $89 for a room with a queen and a single. It had 2 armchairs, flat screen tv, kitchenette and the room was very spacious. The entire hotel interior had been recently remodeled and was very nicely done.

The prices of the mini bar and breakfast on offer were such good value, we had to check them twice! We had a lovely view over hobart from the room. There was free onsite parking and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

It was only around a 10 minute downhill walk to get to salamanca market and the restaurant area. Also visit Battery Point - some lovely cafes right near the hotel.

Highly recommended hotel. Would definatley come back again when in Hobart.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank everlasting_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We were a group of 11 using both 2 bed apartments and studio apartments for a 4 day weekend. Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk to Salamanca, 700m to Bay Hotel, supermarkets and Sandy Bay shops, on the edge of Battery Point. Staff extremely helpful (and patient about cash account settlement from large group). Small bedrooms in 2 bed apartments and 2nd bedroom not entirely suitable for 2 adults with bags. Living rooms great size and kitchen facilities good. Everyone voted that we would stay again. Having the bottle shop next door was an extra bonus. After long days of sightseeing a bottle of red back in our apartments was great. (Absolutely no noise from bottle shop or traffic at night.) Particularly recommend Bay Hotel for music and food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews. I am a hard person to please but found this to be one of the better places I have stayed. The outside of the building is a little old and run down lookiing however this has no reflection of the inside. As I travelled with my husband and 3 1/2 year old daughter we booked a deluxe 2 bedroom unit. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds are very comfortable.The bathroom is also big and exceptionally clean.The kitchen was well equipped and the supermarket is only about a 2 minute drive so very easy to self cater. The mini bar and breakfast packs are very reasonably priced. The room was serviced daily. The guest laundry and internet are also reasonably priced. There is ampls parking and never had a problem.

If I ever return to Hobart I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Stanleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing