We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there again...if its not booked out!”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Will stay there again...if its not booked out!”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Three in one room yet still room to move! Great Kitchenette facilities, love the bathroom (has those wonderful shower heads that massage your head) and the plasma telly was a welcome relief to a hard day of touring (sometimes you just need to chill and veg out). Great stay!

Only down fall was the smokers on the balconies so you couldn't open the door to your balcony for fresh air :o(

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JacquiG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    281
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
139
291
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

The location was great ! Really did not need a car if staying for a few days. Walking distance to Salamanca markets and shopping precinct at Sanday Bay. Staff were very helpful and unobstrusive.

Corridors leading to the rooms were dull and boring but the rooms were great. Had 3 adults stay in the room and it was not overly crowded so the rooms were a good size even for 3. Especially liked the bedhead light for personal reading.

I was a bit concerned about the attached bottle shop but did not hear any noise or many cars even though it is located at a very busy intersection.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We had three great nights here. King size bed, great LCD TV on the wall that could be turned to the best viewing spot, spotlessly clean, staff happy to supply an extra saucepan for the kitchen, central location. A bit of a steep climb up from Salamance Place but good central location. On site parking and good laundry.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickAndLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Last two nights in Hobart we booked St Ives and it was excellent. Thank you very much, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed with a friend in a two bed room (one king single, one queen) for three nights. The room was great, very comfortable beds - even a choice of pillow types - amazing. The decor was modern and stylish. Nothing seemed to much trouble from the staff. The mini bar prices were the same as you'd pay at the shops, and the charge for using the internet was negligable. The location is great. We had a car and never had any trouble with parking. It's a very short walk to Salamanca and there is a Coles just down the road for when you want to use the cooking facilities in the room. The flatscreen TV was great, and there was a good choice of channels to choose from. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and we were very happy. The room was clean, roomy and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The location was good, within walking distance to Salamanca markets, and there were several restaurants in the neighbourhood, including a few cafes which were a good option for breakfast. There is also a bottle shop attached to the hotel, in case you want to have a few beers in your room, and the room had a small mini-bar with snacks and drinks that was very reasonably priced. There was no internet in the hotel room but I did see a sign in the lobby for free internet use down the hall.. we didn't check it out though. Since we rented a car we were glad that there was plenty of free parking at the hotel. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The St Ives apartments are situated within a 10 minute walk from the tourist attraction of Salamanca place. But it is a downhill walk. So I guess you will need to walk back UPHILL at some stage. The apartments have been recently refurbished and are very clean and tidy. They are serviced everyday, unless you desire otherwise.
The facilities are complete, so you can do your own thing if you desire.
Whilst there is a large widescreen television suspended on the wall, there is also another one on the adjoining apartment. This means that some of the TV sound from the adjoining apartment can intrude. Luckily our neighbours switched it off at a reasonable hour.
Other than that, I can happily say that our stay at St Ives was very pleasant in very nice surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing