We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We had three great nights here. King size bed, great LCD TV on the wall that could be turned to the best viewing spot, spotlessly clean, staff happy to supply an extra saucepan for the kitchen, central location. A bit of a steep climb up from Salamance Place but good central location. On site parking and good laundry.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickAndLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 642 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

Last two nights in Hobart we booked St Ives and it was excellent. Thank you very much, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed with a friend in a two bed room (one king single, one queen) for three nights. The room was great, very comfortable beds - even a choice of pillow types - amazing. The decor was modern and stylish. Nothing seemed to much trouble from the staff. The mini bar prices were the same as you'd pay at the shops, and the charge for using the internet was negligable. The location is great. We had a car and never had any trouble with parking. It's a very short walk to Salamanca and there is a Coles just down the road for when you want to use the cooking facilities in the room. The flatscreen TV was great, and there was a good choice of channels to choose from. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and we were very happy. The room was clean, roomy and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The location was good, within walking distance to Salamanca markets, and there were several restaurants in the neighbourhood, including a few cafes which were a good option for breakfast. There is also a bottle shop attached to the hotel, in case you want to have a few beers in your room, and the room had a small mini-bar with snacks and drinks that was very reasonably priced. There was no internet in the hotel room but I did see a sign in the lobby for free internet use down the hall.. we didn't check it out though. Since we rented a car we were glad that there was plenty of free parking at the hotel. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The St Ives apartments are situated within a 10 minute walk from the tourist attraction of Salamanca place. But it is a downhill walk. So I guess you will need to walk back UPHILL at some stage. The apartments have been recently refurbished and are very clean and tidy. They are serviced everyday, unless you desire otherwise.
The facilities are complete, so you can do your own thing if you desire.
Whilst there is a large widescreen television suspended on the wall, there is also another one on the adjoining apartment. This means that some of the TV sound from the adjoining apartment can intrude. Luckily our neighbours switched it off at a reasonable hour.
Other than that, I can happily say that our stay at St Ives was very pleasant in very nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Chose St Ives due to positive reviews on this site. Usually glowing reviews leave your expectations too high but St Ives certainly delivered. Clean, comfortable, great location -short walk to Salamanca (5min), Hobart(10min), Casino(20min) and surrounds. Quiet, not in the main hub of it all. It's true - continental brekky $3, snacks and drinks priced well (mini bar). Gave service 4/5 and not full marks - although reception were friendly, they were quick to send us in the direction of the Tourist Information Centre. Asked for recommendation on local Thai restaurant but couldnt suggest one. I understand everyone may not appreciate good thai but I felt a little help of going thru the yellow pages or google would have been appreciated. For those who do like Thai....'Suwan' Salamanca Place was yummy - 8/10 - located at the end of an arcade, same block as Irish Murphys(great beer) and Retro cafe(great brekky $15 for most combos), 'Zum' for brekky also great. Enjoy! p.s Fresh towels are supplied daily and your bed is made! Good quality shampoo/conditioner/moisturiser/soaps are replenished daily too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mounsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We have found that most city accommodation is overpriced and has added expensive parking !
Well St. Ives Apartments was much more than we expected! Easy and lovely walk to Salamanca Market you can leave your car in the free parking and stroll to lots of lovely places in the city!
We had four nights there and we would love to return again.
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $87 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing