We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge plasma!”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2009

St Ives has that over scented hotel problem, made worse because we arrived at about 2pm and laundry was being bundled around the reception area and it was really reeking of deodoriser. That being said, we stayed for one night for $148 in a king size bed. There was some noise from other rooms but nothing too bad. The decor is nicely done, the lighting could have a better option for TV viewing but overall if you want to be in a beautiful area of Hobart it is ideal. Staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 661 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter. We had a studio room which was a good size, recently refurbished and clean. The room was ready even though we arrived before 2pm, which was great.

Location was great, not far from Salamanca (note there is a great little supermarket in Salamanca Place open until around 8pm in the evenings).

Staff were all friendly and arranged internet for us which was very cheap as was the mini bar.

If the room had a bath it would have been a 5 out of 5.

The apartments are nothing to look at from the outside but rest assured inside they are lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our family of two adults and two kids stayed in a two bedroom apartment over the Easter break. The apartment has been totally renovated and looks fantastic. There was heaps of space and the layout with two bedrooms upstairs and the living/kitchen/dining downstairs worked very well for us.

We thought the St Ives apartments were incredibly good value for money. The fresh;y renovated decor is really nice, the beds are super comfortable, the flat screen TV offers a host of channels and the location is excellent - close to everything. Our apartment had a very nice view. The staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was very clean and serviced daily. There are no laundry facilities in the apartment but there is a laundry room on-site and the washing machines were quick and efficient. I was impressed by the little touches like the photocopied weekly television guide and the way that you can order DIY continental breakfasts for only $3 per person - a bargain! Wireless internet is available - extremely fast and also super cheap: we surfed for over half an hour for a princely 65c.

My only complaints: the kitchen was fine but not really set up for proper holiday cooking (no stove, only a microwave and only rudimentary supplies). We would also have found it useful to have a DVD player for the kids, but they enjoyed the Nickleodeon TV channel.

If you are self-catering I highly recommend the wonderful gourmet delicatessen Wurtshaus, voted by Gourmet Traveller as one of the top five food stores in Australia, and only a 5 minute walk down the hill. The cheeses are amazing and the prepared meals looked delicious.

Overall a fantastic place to stay, very comfortable and top value. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwicmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

If you're looking for a great place to stay while in Hobart, look no further than St. Ives. Excellent rooms, great staff and best location! Very close to Salamanca, this place is so nice and comfy, that you'd want to stay indoors! My wife and I stayed here for three days and loved it. Now, a special thanks to the staff at the hotel. On the way back to the airport, my wife dropped her purse in the cab. We realized that she'd lost it only after we got back to Sydney. We called the hotel and reported the whole thing to them. Guess what? A couple of days later, we had the purse not only traced from the cab, but it was posted to us in Sydney. Every last cent was in the purse. Thanks guys!
Now this is what I call service! Keep it up!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VEESydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed for 1 night and were very impressed. Our room had obviously undergone a complete refurbishment and was very modern and comfortable. The room was also very quite. I would highly recommend St Ives for great value for money in Hobart. If you want to base yourself in up-market Battery Point and also a 3 min walk to Salamanca Pl then this is the place to stay. They accommodated our 1 year old son with no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

WE stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday.We couldn't fault anything.The whole place is spotlessly clean,lovely comfy bed and in a fantastic location with easy walking to all major city attractions.We usually cook our own food on holiday so the kitchen was an added bonus.The hotel is also very quiet even though it is in the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

St Ives was a fantastic place to stay. Great location near Salamander Markets, docks and city (short and pleasant walk, though bus route right outside), the room was large, tastefully furnished and quiet, the bed was THE best i've ever slept in away from home, cooking facilities were a bonus as we like our own cooking ;-), nice view out over city and harbour, and a bottle shop right next door! What more could you want? It'll certainly be my first choice destination when next in Hobart.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Eninnaj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $104 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing