We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2008

St Ives is excellent value for money! Recently renovated and refurbished we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious, modern and clean the apartments were - definitely exceeded expectations. Goodies at the mini bar was priced as cheap as the local supermakret so rather than travel outside, my partner made use of this - he refuses to pay double or triple retail prices so he was pretty pleased. Great location, only a 3 minute walk to Salamanca Place in one direction and a very short drive to the shops at Sandy Bay or Wrest Point Casino. Will definitely be staying there next time I travel to Hobart.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MananaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 644 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

I defy any place to provide better value than St Ives. Great location and beautiful rooms recently renovated - we could not fault it. And the wall mounted plasma TV was an added bonus! They must have the cheapest breakfasts in town at $3 a serve and one of the cheapest mini bars if you are into that sort of thing. We dined locally at a couple of great pubs recommended by the front desk and were not disappointed.
It is easy to find as the directions from the airport were a breeze to follow - virtually straight through to the Tasman Bridge and once over keep going for a short distance, turn left and you're there.
Booked through Wotif for a bargain basement price and would not seriously consider staying elsewhere now. Free off street parking is available and the place was quiet. Pleasant views from the balcony upstairs and superior cleanliness. Beautifully appointed in every sense. The only fault was no coffee mugs - we had to use those tiny little hotel cups and saucers. I asked at reception for proper mugs and was told unavailable. If not for this minor annoyance the place would have been perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AndiP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

What a great place to stay! The service, cleanliness and comfort of the room was fantastic. Every staff member we spoke to was so courteous and more than willing to help. On arriving we found we'd inadvertently made an error and booked a room with twin beds rather than a king, however reception was able to reassign us to a king size rooms within minutes, with no hassle. The huge plasma screen with Austar was great for when we were too lazy to go out. The mini bar prices were very reasonable. The room (including the bathroom) was well designed, modern and very clean. There was plenty of free off street parking. The bed was so comfy! Never had abetter night's sleep away from home. St Ives is close to everything, and we found it fairly quiet. There were very loud renovations going on from 9am - 4pm on the floor above us, but we were out at those times and it did not bother us. For the price we paid (AU$93/night), we were extremely happy. If we're back in Hobart, we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 2beros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Really good accommodation. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms. Spacious and clean. Fantastic plasma TV that is mounted on the wall (we were there when the Olympics started). Bathroom renovations are impressive. The stripy chairs had me a little worried in the hotel website photos as I was concerned that the room may be disturbingly “seventies”, but the room is actually much more tasteful in real life. Really well thought out rooms and amenities. There is no swimming pool or spa (not on our room anyway – there may have been spa rooms available?), but these are available in Hobart so why pay twice the price to have them in your hotel room. Instead they have a stylish and functional kitchen area, with all of the service and design that you would expect from a four star accommodation. There is also a drive through bottle shop (wine shop) at the front of the hotel, so it was easy to pop out for a bottle of wine or bubbly, without getting slogged for the usual high mini bar prices that you fin din most places. Didn’t seem to be any restaurants on sight, but you are in walking distance of many places to eat. We were very happy to have free parking (off street), which made for a more relaxing time when you have a hire car (without all of the excess insurance!). I highly recommend it. I would stay there again if I go back to Hobart.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trakaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Very impressed with accomodation and service. The look of the external building made us a little nervous (bit dated) but once inside we were extremely happy with everything from the very comfy latex bed to the modern bathroom. We stayed in the new one bedroom deluxe room which is exactly what they are. With a great modern, clean kitchenette and LCD tv, we had everything required. You would expect to pay $200 in melbourne for a room like this and it still would not be as high a standard. Mini bar very cheap, prices starting at $1, we have never raided a mini bar like that before, it was so much fun. Breakfast only $3 (cereal & toast......where else in Australia do you get breakfast for only $3 ?!!?) The position was also great, short walk to salamanca place and city centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank The2BMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Recently stayed here on local travels.

The new rooms at St Ives are great! Spacious, well designed with very good amenities and a great little kitchen area. Everything we needed was here. We especially liked the new bathrooms which are modern and very well designed. Everything about the room was very clean and very comfortable.The staff are also friendly and most helpful.

The location is one of its major pluses as it is very close to the Salamanca Markets and only a short walk or drive to the middle of the city. Many restaurants and Hobart's dock area are literally five minutes walk away. Very handy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zmj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed for five nights. Easy walking ditance from everythings you would want to see in hobart. Good cooking facilities with nearby supermarkets. Most rooms have been done up but, our room had not been worked on yet. Would stay there again if we are in Hobart.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing